General Data Sources
This list is just to get you started. For many more data sources and help, look at the library data guide and come see me for even more ideas.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Census data, 1790 - 2010. 18,000 maps. All American Community Surveys. Fun and easy to use! - data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Statistical population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census. Replaces American FactFinder.
- EPA EJViewVery cool mapping tool from EPA. Enter in a location down to zip code or coordinates and generate map with environmental justice-related locations.
- Data from National Center for Environmental HealthThis Web site provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health. It highlights the major data systems with a national scope where public health and environmental data can be directly downloaded from the Internet.
- NCES: National Center for Education Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collects a huge number of U.S. education stats in one place. - FCSM: Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (Formerly Fedstats) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to statistics from over 100 federal agencies.
- National Center for Health StatisticsAccess detailed statistics, databases, and public use data files on all aspects of U.S. public health.
- EPA: Environmental Protection AgencyAccess to data and more.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address.
- Center for Earth, Energy, and DemocracyCEED conducts research and provides community education on important energy, environment, and development issues – so that all members of society may effectively participate in public decision-making.
Statistical Compendia
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This compendia contains summary tables of the vast data collected by various govt. agencies. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A portal to statistics of all kinds. Particularly strong in industry and markets. - ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database aggregates several important statistical indexes and is a great place to start when trying to identify who collects what data.
- StatemasterDatabase of U.S. state statistics. Again, use this commercial site to locate sources to search further.
Strategy: Finding Statistics and Data
When you don't know who has collected the statistics or data you require for your research, follow an organized approach like this one to start investigating.
- Search or browse through big statistical compendia (collections of stats) like the ones suggested here. The best thing about these? They list the sources of the statistics. Go to the sources' websites on Google or look for their information in the library catalog.
- The best way to locate statistics and data is to look for references in the news and literature you find on your topic. Be alert to statistical references in the text and citations.
- Use experts. Look for directories to statistics and data on your topic. I've listed some on this page and you can use advanced Google searching to find more, for instance, search:
- [topic] statistics inurl:guide inurl:library inurl:edu
