Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
LibKey Nomad
What are primary sources?
Primary sources are the original works, creations, or phenomena from a certain time period that scholars analyze in order to produce insight. Primary sources can include:
- correspondence (personal and public)
- fiction, (i.e poetry)
- memoirs and diaries
- artwork and photographs
- artifacts
- political demonstrations
- Primary sources guideA guide to primary sources in all disciplines taught at Carleton.
Websites and Digital Collections
- Primary Sources, Oxford Islamic Studies OnlineMore than 400 primary source documents that can be filtered by era, topic, and region.
- Shangri La: Museum of Islamic Art, Culture, and DesignThe online home for Doris Duke's personal collection of approximately 2,500 objects.
- Records of Bahrain: primary documents, 1820-1960 This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A key selection of facsimile original British government documents detailing the history and development of Bahrain between 1820 and 1960. The set includes a map box containing 12 maps dated 1828–1955 including three sheets of the table of the Ruling Al Khalifah (´Utbi) family of Bahrain.
- Islamic Heritage Project
This link opens in a new window
A collection of digitized Islamic primary sources from Harvard University. - Islamic Manuscripts from Mali, Library of Congress
- This link opens in a new window
Features 32 manuscripts as well as special collections of maps, photographs, and related information. - Islamic Manuscripts from the Princeton Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
- Shahnama Project, Cambridge University
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of manuscripts of the Shahnama, the Persian epic 'Book of Kings', completed by the poet Firdausi in AD 1010. - African & Middle Eastern Reading Room, Library of Congress
- This link opens in a new window
The online presence of the LOC's African & Middle Eastern Division, a major world resource center housing more than 650, 000 volumes. - Arabic Collections Online
- This link opens in a new window
Publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 16,002 volumes across 9,484 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. - Arabic and Middle Eastern Electronic Library
- This link opens in a new window
AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. - Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule
- This link opens in a new window
Colonial Office Files from The National Archives, UK
