Subject Guide
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Many ways to talk to a librarian
There are many ways to get help.
1) Stop by Research/IT on 4th Libe, no appointment needed.
2) Schedule a Consultation Now online to meet with me.
3) Use the chat widget in the lower right corner of the page to chat with a librarian right now.
LibKey Nomad
Find Books in Catalyst
Catalyst lists the collections of both Carleton and St. Olaf.
To find books held at libraries beyond Carleton and St. Olaf (and request them through Interlibrary Loan)
Books and more from other libraries
Request books you find on WorldCat using the "Request Via Illiad" links.
Collecting context and search terms
Academic reference sources are a great set of tools to use alongside article databases. Consulting a signed article is like asking an expert about a topic. Use these short articles to get a sense of how research in the field is organized what language is used (gather keywords to improve your searches elsewhere), find ideas for shaping your question, and see vetted lists of books and articles (better than 3,000 results from a search).
Find Articles in Journals
This is a short list of what is available. Talk to a librarian for ideas of other places to search or peruse the Databases list.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Looks just like ProQuest Research Library, but is actually much narrower. The key index to literature in sociology and related fields, here you have a better chance of finding what sociologists have written. Subject terms let you quickly find all work on a topic with less keyword guesswork. Not for full-text searching. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as Web of Science, this broadly interdisciplinary index is a great way find research and see how much it has been cited. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Broad, interdisciplinary coverage. Great place to start. For some topics, may be necessary to find ways to limit to sociology articles. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through the full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S by ethnic, minority, and native presses. Covers 1991 - current. - ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search across the scholarly literature on a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Other Research Guides
If you want to venture into research from other disciplines, a good way to narrow your options is to turn to research guides for those fields.
