Research Guides: EDUC 100: Will this be on the test? Standardized Testing and American Education: Finding Articles

LibKey Nomad

These indexes provide excellent coverage of topical media, such as newspapers and magazines, often from around the world.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through the full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S by ethnic, minority, and native presses. Covers 1991 - current.
One part of the "Diversity Collection" which also includes the GenderWatch and Alt-PressWatch databases.
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.

What is the difference between an "editorial" and an "Op-ed" article?

An editorial may appear in a newspaper or magazine, and expresses the point sof view of the editor or editorial team of said newspaper/magazine. it comprises the non-advertising parts of a magazine.
An Op-Ed piece appears opposite the editorial page in a newspaper. It is an opinion piece written by someone other than those who are part of a newspaper's editorial team.