Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Alumni Information and Services

A guide for Carleton soon-to-be alumni and current alumni on library services.

Database Access

Subscription Databases

In order to use our subscription databases, you need to be on campus. Our licenses for our electronic collections do not allow us to provide access to off-campus alumni except for JSTOR (see below). 


JSTOR for alumni

As an alumni, you still have access to JSTOR journal articles through Carleton. JSTOR is an electronic archive of important journal literature, with content delivered as page images or PDFs.  Log in using your Carleton username and password.  

JSTOR access is provided by Alumni Relations and the Carleton College Library.


Open Access Journals

Open access journals are journals that are available free and in full-text to readers on the web. You can see a list of open access journals and search for articles at the Directory of Open Access Journals. You may also try searching Google Scholar to find the full text of articles that are sometimes posted on authors' websites or institutional repositories. Note, however, that you will most often find the article available for a fee from the publisher's website. I would recommend checking with a local library about getting access to the article before you order one from a publisher.

Carleton Digital Collections

Need login help?

If you need help with your credentials, please start at the Alumni Username/Password Help Page.

If you need further help, please contact the Alumni Relations office at 1 (800) 729-2586 or alumni-office@carleton.edu.

There may be a slight delay between enabling your account and getting access to JSTOR, but it should be available the same day.