Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Searching for reference sources
All Formats
Where do reference resources (encyclopedias) fit into your research? They are great tools for research tasks like:
- getting an overview of your topic
- finding out what research has been done in your area over a long period of time
- discovering synonyms or keywords that will apply to your topic
- creating a list of authors to investigate
- discovering additional resources in the bibliography
Using the Catalyst search box above, you can do a keyword search and narrow down your results to "reference entries" on the left-hand side, after you have run a search. This will allow you to discover reference articles by name and the encyclopedias where those can be found.
What are Handbooks and Companions?
A companion book is one that elaborates on another already published book or general topic. The goal of a companion book is to provide the reader with a deeper understanding of concepts, themes, characters, places, and ideas. Similarly, a handbook is a book giving information about a particular subject. Check out the companions and handbooks below.
Encyclopedias
Archaeological Method and Theory by ISBN: 0815313055Publication Date: 1999-12-01This Encyclopedia provides a survey of archaeological method and theory, as well as the application of physical and biological sciences in archaeological research. Every aspect of archaeological work is represented, from the discovery process to the ultimate disposition of materials.
Archaeology in America: an Encyclopedia [4 Volumes] by ISBN: 9780313021893Publication Date: 2008-12-30Archaeology in America is the first resource that provides students, researchers, and anyone interested in their local history with a survey of the most important archaeological discoveries in North America.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by ISBN: 9780125480307Publication Date: 2007-11-02The Encyclopedia of Archaeology encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by 
This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1576071987Publication Date: 2001-06-28Written by the most authoritative scholars from around the world, a massive treasurehouse of information on all aspects of archaeology, from prehistory to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0415215447Publication Date: 2002-05-31The Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology is a ground-breaking compendium of information about this ever-growing field. Concentrating on the post-1400 period as well as containing generic explanations of historical archaeology where needed, the encyclopedia is compiled by over 120 experts from around the world and contains more than 370 entries covering important concepts and sites.
Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 3030300161Publication Date: 2020-09-04The entries in this encyclopedia range from succinct summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological enquiry to detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods, and from investigations into the social, ethical and political dimensions of archaeological practice to biographies of leading archaeologists from throughout the world.
Encyclopedia of Prehistory- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 081604547XPublication Date: 2002Surveys the Earth's origins, prehistoric life forms, the dinosaurs, and the first humans.
Dictionaries
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0199534047Publication Date: 2010-02-08Over 4,000 entries cover the terms encountered in academic and popular archaeological literature, in lectures, and on television.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0306461587Publication Date: 2000-04-30A modern, comprehensive compilation of more than 7,000 entries covering themes, concepts, and discoveries in archaeology written in nontechnical language and tailored to meet the needs of professionals, students and general readers.
Handbooks
International Handbook of Historical Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780387720715Publication Date: 2009-06-07The 36 essays in the International Handbook of Historical Archaeology have been specially commissioned from the leading researchers in their fields, creating a wide-ranging digest of the increasingly global field of historical archaeology.
The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0199271011Publication Date: 2009-06-22Archaeology is a vast subject - it is the study of human society everywhere in the world, from distant human origins 3-4 million years ago up to the present day. The Oxford Handbook of Archaeology brings together 35 authors - all specialists in their own fields - to explain what archaeology is really about.
Handbook of Archaeological Theories by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1299135579Publication Date: 2007-01-01This handbook, a companion to the authoritative Handbook of Archaeological Methods, gathers original, authoritative articles from leading archaeologists on all aspects of the latest thinking about archaeological theory.
The Oxford Handbook of Anglo-Saxon Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0199212147Publication Date: 2011-05-19The Handbook of Anglo-Saxon Archaeology, written by a team of experts and presenting the results of the most up-to-date research, will both stimulate and support further investigation into those aspects of Anglo-Saxon life and culture which archaeology hasfundamentally illuminated.
Companions
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 0195076184Publication Date: 1996-12-05In The Oxford Companion toArchaeology, readers have a comprehensive and authoritative overview of this fascinating discipline, in a book that is itself a rare find, a treasure of up-to-date information on virtually every aspect of the field.
Companion Encyclopedia of Archaeology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1280104503Publication Date: 1999-01-01This comprehensive, fully illustrated Companion answers the need for an in-depth archaeology reference that provides authoritative coverage of this complex and interdisciplinary field. The work brings together the myriad strands and the great temporal and spatial breadth of the field into two thematically organized volumes.
Fieldwork resources
In the Field by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780520964211Publication Date: 2018-05-11This book offers an invaluable look at what cultural anthropologists do when they are in the field. Through fascinating and often entertaining accounts of their lives and work in varied cultural settings, the authors describe the many forms fieldwork can take, the kinds of questions anthropologists ask, and the common problems they encounter.
