Catalyst and Specialized Databases
There are many specific Subject Headings that the library uses to catalog books. These subject headings can help you find things you wouldn't have thought to search for. These are a few examples of Subject Headings:
- Subject (is exact) Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) . Also look for the related subjects....
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), art
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) In Literature
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Personal Narratives
- Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) Historiography
- Subject (is exact) Germany -- Politics and government -- 1933-1945 AND Physical Resources [oldest first]
- Subject (is exact) Germany -- History -- 1933-1945
- Subject (is exact) Gays -- Nazi persecution
- Subject (is exact) Anti-Nazi movement -- Germany AND Language = English
- Subject (is exact) Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945), in motion pictures
- Author (is exact) Hitler, Adolf AND Books [oldest first]
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present.
- SEARCH TERMS: "Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)" (subject heading)When searching for primary sources, sometimes you need to use different search terms. Try some of the terms in this list from the Library of Congress.
Jewish Studies [Oxford Bibliographies]
Call Number: ONLINEOver 200 curated bibliographies on topics specific to Jewish Studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the archives of Jewish History and 57 other journals in Jewish Studies. - RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Provides selective indexing of thousands of journals and essay collections in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages. International in focus. The library also has print copies of this index in the reference collection (REF DS 102 .J6) from the years 1966-2000 when it ceased print publication and moved to its current online format. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in.
4 Ways to use One Source
You can use one secondary sources (book, article) four ways!
- Go back in time: look at its footnotes and bibliography
- Forward in time: do Cited By searching
- Subjects: look for other sources with similar topics / subjects
- Methods: look for other sources that use similar methods
