Librarian
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
LibKey Nomad
Indexes and Abstracts
Turn to indexes and abstracts to find more scholarly research on your topic. If you want to know whether Carleton subscribes to a particular journal, search for the journal title in the Electronic Journals List.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains the full-text of the journals, newsletters, and bulletins of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Covers 1960 - current. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts) Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. To search the Annual Review of Anthropology, type "Anthropology" in the Published In field, and select the journal title. This will ensure all results come from this publication. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1963 to present.
Sociological Abstracts is the major index to international periodical articles in the discipline. - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(via Web of Science)Current bibliographic information and cited references, covering more than 1,700 of the world's leading social sciences journals in a broad range of disciplines. Use this to search broadly within the social sciences or use its specialized cited references search to find articles that cite another one. - Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Allows you to discover international scholarly work in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Covers late 19th century - current - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1991 to present.Full text articles and index from about 100 ethnic newspapers published in the U.S; many in Spanish.
IBSS: Sociology: 2013 Vol. 63 by Call Number: CC Ref GN304 .I593ISBN: 9781138818989Publication Date: 2015-01-02Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Most recent edition in reference, older issues in general stacks.
Comprehensive listing of research; classified arrangement with subject index; international in coverage; covers about 425 journals.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals, books and other sources from around the world in all aspects of the humanities - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to international news and other information. Dates of coverage vary by title.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text of nearly 250 journals, primarily in interdisciplinary areas. A great place to find journal articles relating to women's and gender issues. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1971 to present.Broad coverage of scholarly journals, newspapers, trade magazines and other publications across most academic fields. Many anthropology journals are included, but it may be necessary to limit your search by including 'anthropology' in one of the search boxes and changing the drop-down to 'Subject.'
Women Studies Abstracts (1972 to present)
Call Number: REF HQ 1111 .W65Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Arranged by broad subject; slightly more detailed subject index; some abstracts are included; popular and scholarly periodicals indexed.
Subject Bibliographies
Bibliographies are lists of resources on a particular topic, often with evaluations of each resources. Subject bibliographies are an efficient way to start locating research articles on your topic. Find these by searching on Catalyst: do a keyword search, then look on the left-hand side of the page for the facet called 'Genre.' Click 'bibliography' or 'more...' to see the bibliography option.
Here is an example of a country bibliography and one on women in developing countries.
- Cameroon: a Bibliography byCall Number: Ref DT564 .D44 1986Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Third world women and development: a bibliography byCall Number: CC Ref HQ1870.9 .N67 2001Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Africa BibliographyThe Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984. You can select a subject (ie, "Anthropology") to see recent articles published in that research area.
Interpreting "Find It" Results (2022)
Scholarly journals are going to be found, in most cases, either online or in print.
Searching Catalyst and using the Find It button are the best ways to determine what kind of subscription the library has and how to get your hands (or eyes, as the case may be) on it.
Following are explanations of the different results you'll get using the Find It button.
Instant Electronic Access
When you click the "Find It!" button, you will be taken to a record for the article in Catalyst. That record will tell you whether this is available electronically, in print, both, or neither. If it is available, you will see a message "Online Access" near the top of the page.
Click the Online Access button and you should be taken straight to the article.
If it doesn't work or you want to find other options, scroll down to see the electronic options for that article...
Follow a link and you'll be taken to the article.
Print Journals
If the library subscribes in print, you need to find the call number for the journal in Catalyst. Then go to the moving stacks on the 3rd floor of the library where the journals are. Catalyst shows the call number so you know where to find it on 3rd Libe.
If the print copy is only at St. Olaf, log in to Catalyst, then click the St. Olaf Library entry to expand it. Find the issue you need, then click the Request link to have the journal sent over to Carleton, where you can pick it up at the Circulation Desk.
Carleton Doesn't Subscribe
If Carleton doesn't subscribe to the journal for the issue you need, make a request through Interlibrary Loan.
