Skip to Main Content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Cinema and Media Studies (CAMS)

Selected reference works, electronic resources, and Web sites concerning film history, theory, and criticism.

Major Film Periodicals for Media Research: Introduction

This microfilm collection includes the complete run of The Film Daily, a major film industry publication, and its predecessors (Wid's Film and Film FolkWid's Independent Review of Feature Films, and Wid's Daily) from 1915 to 1970. It also includes a complete run of The Film Daily Year Book from the same period.

Film Daily provided up-to-the-minute trade news, details of film releases, films in production, films made and not released, changes in studio ownership and management, analysis of financial trends and how they affected the film industry, and other news pertinent to the business of filmmaking.

Film Daily also provided news of interest to film exhibitors. Every issue of the newspaper included news and reviews of newly-released films; box office revenues; changes in theater chain ownership and management; and news of developments in sound, color, and presentation.

Information on censorship struggles was also provided by coverage of the activities of the Hays Film Office, the Catholic League of Decency, the Dies Committee, and other censorship organizations.

Also included in the coverage is news of actors and directors, producers and composers, cinematographers and set designers, and other cast and crew. Special reports from theaters in Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Grand Rapids, Indianapolis, Milwaukee, Portland, St. Louis, and San Antonio provide extended and detailed views of theatergoing in those cities.

Film Daily also reviewed films, analyzing the commercial prospects of each film in consideration. These reviews are indexed annually in the Film Daily Year Books. The Year Books provide a "snapshot" of the movie industry in any given year, summarizing the important developments and news of the past year.

Film Daily is not indexed, but this online guide provides the dates of coverage for each microfilm reel.

Series One: Film Daily and Predecessors, 1915-1970

Note: The numbering of volumes and issues of Film Daily and its predecessors is erratic and irregular. The original numbering has been preserved in this guide, but numbering errors in the printed guide to this collection have been corrected here.

Reel 1

Wid's Film and Film Folk
Vol. 1 No.1 September 9, 1915 to No. 17 December 30, 1915
Vol. 2 No. 1 January 6, 1916 to No. 21 May 25, 1915

Wid's Independent Review of Feature Films
Vol. 2 No. 22 June 1, 1916 to No. 51 December 1916
note: Vol. 2 No. 26 is missing

Reel 2

Vol. 3 No. 1 January 4, 1917 to No. 52 December 27, 1917
Vol. 4 No. 1 January 3, 1918 to No. 18 May 2, 1918

Reel 3

Wid's Daily
Vol. 5 No. 1 May 8, 1918 to No. 148 October 5, 1918
note: Vol. 5 No. 143 is missing
Vol. 6 No. 1 October 6, 1918 to No. 83 December 31, 1918
note: Vol. 6 No. 25 is missing

Reel 4

Vol. 7 No. 1 January 2, 1919 to No. 88 April 2, 1919
Vol. 8 No. 1 April 3, 1919 to No. 28 April 30, 1919

Reel 5

Vol. 8 No. 29 May 1, 1919 to No. 88 June 30, 1919
Vol. 9 No. 1 July 1, 1919 to No. 90 September 30, 1919
note: Vol. 9 No. 46, 63, and 64 are missing
Vol. 10 No. 1 October 1, 1919 to No. 31 November 1, 1919

Reel 6

Vol. 10 No. 31 November 1, 1919 to No. 88 December 31, 1919
Vol. 11 No. 1 January 2, 1920 to No. 90 March 31, 1920
Vol. 12 No. 1 April 1, 1920 to No. 30 April 30, 1920

Reel 7

Vol. 12 No. 31 May 1, 1920 to No. 89 June 19, 1920
Vol. 13 No. 1 July 1, 1920 to No. 90 September 30, 1920
note: Vol. 13 No. 29 is missing
Vol. 14 No. 1 October 1, 1920 to No. 30 October 1920

Reel 8

Vol. 14 No. 31 November 1, 1920 to No. 90 January 2, 1921
Vol. 15 No. 1 January 3, 1921 to No. 86 March 31, 1921
Vol. 16 No. 1 April 1921 to No. 30 April 30, 1921

Reel 9

Vol. 16 No. 31 May 1, 1921 to No. 90 June 30, 1921
Vol. 17 No. 1 July 1, 1921 to No. 90 September 1921
Vol. 18 No. 1 October 1, 1921 to No. 89 December 31, 1921

Reel 10

The Film Daily
Vol. 19 No. 1 January 1, 1922 to No. 87 March 31, 1922
Vol. 20 No. 1 April 1, 1922 to No. 90 June 30, 1922

Reel 11

Vol. 21 No. 1 July 1, 1922 to No. 90 September 30, 1922
Vol. 22 No. 1 October 1922 to No. 89 December 31, 1922

Reel 12

Vol. 23 No. 1 January 2, 1923 to No. 87 March 31, 1923
Vol. 24 No. 1 April 1923 to No. 87 June 29, 1923

Reel 13

Vol. 25 No. 1 July 1, 1923 to No. 76 September 30, 1923
Vol. 26 No. 1 October 1, 1923 to No. 76 December 31, 1923

Reel 14

Vol. 27 No. 1 January 2, 1924 to No. 75 March 31, 1924
Vol. 28 No. 1 April 1, 1924 to No. 51 May 29, 1924

Reel 15

Vol. 28 No. 52 June 1, 1924 to No. 77 June 30, 1924
Vol. 29 No. 1 July 1, 1924 to No. 77 September 30, 1924
Vol. 30 No. 1 October 1, 1924 to No. 78 December 31, 1924

Reel 16

Vol. 31 No. 1 January 2, 1925 to No. 75 March 31, 1925
Vol. 32 No. 1 April 1, 1925 to No. 78 June 1925

Reel 17

Vol. 33 No. 1 July 1, 1925 to No. 78 September 30, 1925
Vol. 34 No. 1 October 1, 1925 to No. 76 December 31, 1925

Reel 18

Vol. 35 No. 1 January 3, 1926 to No. 75 March 31, 1926
Vol. 36 No. 1 April 1, 1926 to No. 77 June 30, 1926

Reel 19

Vol. 37 No. 1 July 1926 to No. 77 September 30, 1926

Reel 20

Vol. 38 No. 1 October 1, 1926 to No. 78 December 31, 1926

Reel 21

Vol. 39 No. 1 January 2, 1927 to No. 76 March 31, 1927
Vol. 40 No. 1 April 1, 1927 to No. 77 June 30, 1927

Reel 22

Vol. 41 No. 1 July 1, 1927 to No. 77 September 30, 1927
Vol. 42 No. 1 October 2, 1927 to No. 76 December 30, 1927

Reel 23

Vol. 43 No. 1 January 1, 1928 to No. 76 March 30, 1928
Vol. 44 No. 1 April 1, 1928 to No. 77 June 29, 1928

Reel 24

Vol. 45 No. 1 July 1, 1928 to No. 77 September 30, 1928
Vol. 46 No. 1 October 1, 1928 to No. 76 December 1928

Reel 25

Vol. 47 No. 1 January 2, 1929 to No. 75 March 31, 1929
Vol. 48 No. 1 April 1929 to No. 77 June 1929

Reel 26

Vol. 49 No. 1 July 1, 1929 to No. 77 September 30, 1929
Vol. 50 No. 1 October 1, 1929 to No. 77 December 31, 1929

Reel 27

Vol. 51 No. 1 January 2, 1930 to No. 76 March 31, 1930
note: Vol. 51 No. 30 is missing
Vol. 52 No. 1 April 1930 to No. 77 June 30, 1930
note: Vol. 52 No. 62 is missing

Reel 28

Vol. 53 No. 1 July 1, 1930 to No. 77 September 30, 1930
Vol. 54 No. 1 October 1, 1930 to No. 76 December 31, 1930

Reel 29

Vol. 55 No. 1 January 2, 1931 to No. 153 June 1931

Reel 30

Vol. 56 No. 1 July 1, 1931 to No. 78 September 1931
Vol. 57 No. 1 October 1, 1931 to No. 76 December 31, 1931

Reel 31

Vol. 58 No. 1 January 3, 1932 to No. 76 March 31, 1932
Vol. 59 No. 1 April 1, 1932 to No. 77 June 30, 1932

Reel 32

Vol. 60 No. 1 July 1, 1932 to No. 153 December 31, 1932

Reel 33

Vol. 61 No. 1 January 1933 to No. 75 March 31, 1933
Vol. 62 No. 1 April 1, 1933 to No. 77 June 30, 1933

Reel 34

Vol. 63 No. 1 July 1, 1933 to No. 77 September 30, 1933
Vol. 64 No. 1 October 2, 1933 to No. 75 December 30, 1933

Reel 35

Vol. 65 No. 1 January 2, 1934 to No. 152 June 30, 1934

Reel 36

Vol. 66 No. 1 July 2, 1934 to No. 153 December 1934

Reel 37

Vol. 67 No. 1 January 2, 1935 to No. 152 June 29, 1935

Reel 38

Vol. 68 No. 1 July 1, 1935 to No. 153 December 31, 1935

Reel 39

Vol. 69 No. 1 January 2, 1936 to No. 153 June 30, 1936

Reel 40

Vol. 70 No. 1 July 1, 1936 to No. 154 December 31, 1936

Reel 41

Vol. 71 No. 1 January 2, 1937 to No. 101 April 30, 1937
note: Vol. 71 No. 99 is missing

Reel 42

Vol. 71 No. 102 May 1, 1937 to No. 152 June 30, 1937
Vol. 72 No. 1 July 1, 1937 to No. 52 August 31, 1937

Reel 43

Vol. 72 No. 53 September 1, 1937 to No. 154 December 31, 1937

Reel 44

Vol. 73 No. 1 January 3, 1938 to No. 151 June 30, 1938
Vol. 74 No. 1 July 1938 to No. 52 August 31, 1938

Reel 45

Vol. 74 No. 53 September 1, 1938 to No. 136 December 30, 1938

Reel 46

Vol. 75 No. 1 January 3, 1939 to No. 104 May 31, 1939
note: Vol. 75 No. 37 is missing

Reel 47

Vol. 75 No. 105 June 1, 1939 to No. 126 June 30, 1939
Vol. 76 No. 1 July 3, 1939 to No. 126 December 29, 1939

Reel 48

Vol. 77 No. 1 July 1940 to No. 127 December 31, 1940

Reel 49

Vol. 78 No. 1 July 1, 1940 to No. 127 December 31, 1940

Reel 50

Vol. 79 No. 1 January 2, 1941 to No. 126 June 30, 1941

Reel 51

Vol. 80 No. 1 July 1941 to No. 128 December 31, 1941

Reel 52

Vol. 81 No. 1 January 2, 1942 to No. 126 June 30, 1942

Reel 53

Vol. 82 No. 1 July 1, 1942 to No. 126 December 31, 1942

Reel 54

Vol. 83 No. 1 January 4, 1943 to No. 125 June 30, 1943

Reel 55

Vol. 84 No. 1 July 1943 to No. 126 December 31, 1943

Reel 56

Vol. 85 No. 1 January 3, 1944 to No. 128 June 30, 1944

Reel 57

Vol. 86 No. 1 July 3, 1944 to No. 124 December 29, 1944

Reel 58

Vol. 87 No. 1 January 2, 1945 to No. 126 June 29, 1945

Reel 59

Vol. 88 No. 1 July 2, 1945 to No. 123 December 28, 1945
note: Vol. 88 No. 99 and 120 are missing

Reel 60

Vol. 89 No. 1 January 2, 1946 to No. 125 June 1946

Reel 61

Vol. 90 No. 1 July 1, 1946 to No. 127 December 31, 1946

Reel 62

Vol. 91 No. 1 January 2, 1947 to No. 126 June 30, 1947

Reel 63

Vol. 92 No. 1 July 1, 1947 to No. 126 December 31, 1947

Reel 64

Vol. 93 No. 1 January 2, 1948 to No. 126 June 30, 1948

Reel 65

Vol. 94 No. 1 July 1, 1948 to No. 127 December 31, 1948

Reel 66

Vol. 95 No. 1 January 3, 1949 to No. 127 June 30, 1949

Reel 67

Vol. 96 No. 1 July 1949 to No. 125 December 30, 1949

Reel 68

Vol. 97 No. 1 January 3, 1950 to No. 126 June 30, 1950

Reel 69

Vol. 98 No. 1 July 3, 1950 to No. 124 December 29, 1950

Reel 70

Vol. 99 No. 1 January 2, 1951 to No. 126 June 29, 1951

Reel 71

Vol. 100 No. 1 July 2, 1951 to No. 123 December 28, 1951

Reel 72

Vol. 101 No. 1 January 2, 1952 to No. 126 June 30, 1952

Reel 73

Vol. 102 No. 1 July 1952 to No. 125 December 31, 1952

Reel 74

Vol. 103 No. 1 January 2, 1953 to No. 126 June 30, 1953

Reel 75

Vol. 104 No. 1 July 1, 1953 to No. 125 December 31, 1953

Reel 76

Vol. 105 No. 1 January 4, 1954 to No. 125 June 30, 1954

Reel 77

Vol. 106 No. 1 July 1, 1954 to No. 125, December 30, 1954

Reel 78

Vol. 107 No. 1 January 3, 1955 to No. 127 June 30, 1955

Reel 79

Vol. 108 No. 1 July 1, 1955 to No. 125 December 30, 1955

Reel 80

Vol. 109 No. 1 January 3, 1956 to No. 126 June 29, 1956

Reel 81

Vol. 110 No. 1 July 2, 1956 to No. 122 December 28, 1956

Reel 82

Vol. 111 No. 1 January 2, 1957 to No. 125 June 28, 1957

Reel 83

Vol. 112 No. 1 July 1, 1957 to No. 125 December 31, 1957

Reel 84

Vol. 113 No. 1 January 2, 1958 to No. 126 June 30, 1958

Reel 85

Vol. 114 No. 1 July 1, 1958 to No. 124 December 31, 1958

Reel 86

Vol. 115 No. 1 January 5, 1959 to No. 124 June 30, 1959

Reel 87

Vol. 116 No. 1 July 1959 to No. 126 December 31, 1959

Reel 88

Vol. 117 No. 1 January 4, 1960 to No. 126 June 30, 1960

Reel 89

Vol. 117 No. 127 July 1, 1960 to No. 248 December 29, 1960

Reel 90

Vol. 118 No. 1 January 3, 1961 to No. 125 June 30, 1961

Reel 91

Vol. 119 No. 1 July 5, 1961 to No. 121 December 28, 1961

Reel 92

Vol. 120 No. 1 January 2, 1962 to No. 125 June 29, 1962

Reel 93

Vol. 121 No. 1 July 2, 1962 to No. 122 December 28, 1962

Reel 94

Vol. 122 No. 1 January 2, 1963 to No. 124 June 28, 1962

Reel 95

Vol. 122 No. 125 July 1, 1963 to No. 140 July 24, 1963
Vol. 123 No. 17 to No. 122 December 31, 1963
note: The misnumbering of issues above is original to the publication. No issues are missing.

Reel 96

Vol. 124 No. 1 January 2, 1964 to No. 126 June 30, 1964

Reel 97

Vol. 124 No. 127 July 1, 1964
Vol. 125 No. 1 July 2, 1964 to No. 124 December 31, 1964

Reel 98

Vol. 126 No. 1 January 4, 1965 to No. 125 June 30, 1965

Reel 99

Vol. 127 No. 1 July 1, 1965 to No. 123 December 30, 1965

Reel 100

Vol. 128 No. 1 January 3, 1966 to No. 126 June 30, 1966

Reel 101

Vol. 128 No. 127 July 1, 1966 to No. 161 August 19, 1966
Vol. 129 No. 1 August 22, 1966 to No. 87 December 30, 1966

Reel 102

Vol. 130 No. 1 January 3, 1967 to No. 120 December 29, 1967

Reel 103

Vol. 131 No. 1 July 15, 1967 to No. 120 December 29, 1967

Reel 104

Vol. 132 No. 1 January 2, 1968 to No. 52 March 15, 1968
The Film and Television Daily
Vol. 132 No. 53 March 18, 1968 to No. 125 June 28, 1968

Reel 105

Vol. 132 No. 126 July 1, 1968
Vol. 133 No. 1 July 2, 1968 to No. 121 December 31, 1968

Reel 106

Vol. 134 No. 1 January 2, 1969 to No. 127 July 1, 1969
Vol. 135 No. 1 July 2, 1969 to No. 93 November 14, 1969
Film Television Daily
Vol. 136 No. 1 November 17, 1969 to No. 29 December 31, 1969

Reel 107

Vol. 136 No. 30 January 5, 1970 to No. 131 June 1, 1970