Skip to Main Content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Cinema and Media Studies (CAMS)

Selected reference works, electronic resources, and Web sites concerning film history, theory, and criticism.

Cinema Pressbooks: Introduction

Cinema pressbooks are primary resource materials originally distributed to cinema owners and the mass media with the intent of publicizing a specific motion picture. They often contained technical descriptions and synopses of a film, brief biographies of and interviews with the film's stars, advertisement and poster designs, still photographs, and suggestions for effective promotion of the film. Today, pressbooks have been replaced by the electronic press kit which includes behind-the-scenes footage from the film and videotaped interviews with the stars but will often contain the same kind of printed synopses, biographies and interviews, and still photographs that a pressbook might have contained.

The Cinema Pressbooks from the Original Studio Collections microfilm contains 1700 pressbooks from three studios and covers the years of transition from silent to talking pictures through the "Golden Era" of Hollywood filmmaking.

The Cinema Pressbooks from the Original Studio Collections microfilm collection is comprised of four sub-collections: Warner Bros. sound features, 1927 to 1949; Warner Bros. silent features, 1922 to 1929; Monogram Pictures, 1937 to 1946; and United Artists (including Eagle Lion Films), 1919 to 1949. Click the Microform Collections tab above to find film titles and reel numbers for pressbooks included in the collection (use command-F to search on the page). A complete, alphabetical index of all film titles included in the collection is available at the publisher's Web site.

Warner Bros. Sound Features, 1927 to 1949

Reel 1

Accidents Will Happen
Across The Pacific
Action in the North Atlantic
Adventure in Iraq
Adventures of Don Juan
The Adventures of Jane Arden
The Adventures of Mark Twain
The Adventures of Robin Hood
The Adventurous Blonde
Air Force
Alcatraz Island
Alexander Hamilton
Alias the Doctor
Alibi Ike
All This and Heaven Too
Always a Bride
Always in my Heart
Always Leave Them Laughing
Always Together
The Amazing Doctor Clitterhouse
An Angel from Texas
The Angels Wash Their Faces
Angels with Dirty Faces
Another Dawn
Anthony Adverse
April in Paris
April Showers
Arsenic and Old Lace (and its re-issue with 'The Inspector General’)
As the Earth Turns
Babbitt
Back in Circulation
Back Pay
Background to Danger
Bad Men of Missouri
The Bargain
The Beast With Five Fingers
Beauty and the Boss
Bedside
Beloved Brat

Reel 2

Bengal Tiger
Between Two Worlds
Beyond the Forest
Big Business Girl
Big City Blues
Big Hearted Herbert
The Big Noise
The Big Punch
The Big Shakedown
The Big Shot
The Big Sleep
The Big Stampede
Black Fury
Black Legion
Blackwell's Island
Blazing Sixes
Blessed Event
Blonde Crazy
Blondes at Work
Blondie Johnson
Blues in the Night
Bordertown
Born for Trouble (formerly 'Murder in the Big House')
Boulder Dam
Boy Meets Girl
The Bride Came C.O.D.
Brides are Like That
Bright Lights (1930)
Bright Lights
British Agent
British Intelligence
Broad Minded
Broadway Gondolier
Broadway Hostess
Broadway Musketeers
Brother Orchid
Brother Rat
Brother Rat and a Baby
Bullet Scars
Bullets for O'Hara
Bullets or Ballots
Bureau of Missing Persons

Reel 3

Busses Roar
Cabin in the Cotton
Cain and Mabel
California Mail
Call it a Day
Calling All Husbands
Calling Philo Vance
Captain Blood
Captain Thunder
The Captain's Kid
Captains of the Clouds
Captured
Casablanca
The Case of the Black Cat
The Case of the Black Parrot
The Case of the Curious Bride
The Case of the Howling Dog
The Case of the Lucky Legs
The Case of the Stuttering Bishop
The Case of the Velvet Claws
Castle On The Hudson
Ceiling Zero
Central Airport
Central Park
Chain Lightning
Chances
Charge of the Light Brigade
Cherokee Strip
A Child is Born
China Clipper
The Church Mouse
Cinderella Jones
The Circus Clown
City for Conquest
Code of the Secret Service
Colleen
College Coach
Colorado Territory
Comet Over Broadway
Confession
Confessions of a Nazi Spy

Reel 4

Confidential Agent
Conflict
The Conspirators
The Constant Nymph
Convention City
The Corn is Green
Cowboy from Brooklyn
The Cowboy Quarterback
The Crash
Crime by Night
Crime School
The Crooner
The Crowd Roars
Cry Wolf
Dames
Dance, Charley Dance
Dancing Sweeties
Danger Signal
Dangerous
Dangerous Female (formerly 'The Maltese Falcon')
Dangerously they Live
Daredevil Drivers
Dark Hazard
The Dark Horse
Dark Passage
Dark Victory
Daughters Courageous
The Dawn Patrol
Deception
The Decision of Christopher Blake
Deep Valley
Desert Song
Desirable
Desperate Journey
Destination Tokyo
Devil Dogs of the Air
Devil's Island

Reel 5

Devil's Saddle Legion
Devotion
Dinky
A Dispatch from Reuters
Dive Bomber
Divorce Among Friends
Dr. Monica
Dr. Socrates
Doctor X
Dodge City
Don't Bet on Blondes
The Doughgirls
Down the Stretch
Draegerman Courage
The Dragon Murder Case
Dust Be My Destiny
Each Dawn I Die
Earthworm Tractors
East of the River
Easy To Love
Edge of Darkness
Elmer the Great
Embraceable You
Employees' Entrance
Empty Holsters
Escape from Crime
Escape from the Desert
Escape Me Never
Espionage Agent
Ever In My Heart
Ever Since Eve
Everybody's Hobby
Ex-Lady
Expensive Husbands
Expensive Women
The Expert
The Famous Ferguson Case
Fashions of 1934
Father is a Prince
Father's Son
Female
Fifty Million Frenchmen
Fighter Squadron
Fighting 69th

Reel 6

Find the Blackmailer
The Finger Points
The Firebird
Fireman Save my Child
First Lady
Five Star Final
Flamingo Road
Flaxy Martin
Flight Angels
Flight From Destiny
Flirtation Walk
The Flirting Widow
The Florentine Dagger
Flowing Gold
Fly Away Baby
Flying Fortress
Fog Over Frisco
Fools For Scandal
Footlight Parade
Footloose Heiress
Footsteps in the Dark
Forty-Second Street
The Fountainhead
Four Daughters
Four Mothers
Four Wives
Four’s A Crowd
Freshman Love
Friends of Mr. Sweeney
Frisco Jenny
The Frisco Kid
From Headquarters
Front Page Woman
Frozen River
A Fugitive from Justice
Fugitive in the Sky
G-Men
Gambling Lady
Gambling on the High Seas
Garden of the Moon

Reel 7

The Gay Sisters
Gentleman Jim
Gentlemen Are Born
George Washington Slept Here
The Girl from Jones Beach
The Girl from Tenth Avenue
Girl Missing
Girls on Probation
Give Me Your Heart
The Go Getter
Go into Your Dance
God Is My Co-Pilot
God's Country and the Woman
God's Gift to Women
Going Highbrow
Going Places
Going Wild
Gold Diggers in Paris
Gold Diggers of 1933
Gold Diggers of 1935
Gold Diggers of 1937
Gold Dust Gertie
Gold is Where You Find It
The Golden Arrow
Golden Dawn
Goodbye Again
The Goose and The Gander
The Gorilla Man
Grand Slam
Granny Get Your Gun
The Great Divide
The Great Garrick
The Great Lie
The Great Mr. Nobody
The Great O’Malley

Reel 8

Green Light
The Green Pastures
Guns of the Pecos
Happiness Ahead
Hard to Get
Hard to Handle
The Hard Way
Harold Teen
Hatchet Man
Havana Widows
He Couldn't Say No
He Was Her Man
The Heart of New York
Heart of the North
Hearts Divided
Heat Lightning
Hell's Kitchen
Her Husband's Secretary
Her Kind of Man
Here Comes Carter
Here Comes Happiness
Here Comes The Navy
Heroes for Sale
The Hidden Hand
Hi Nellie
High Pressure
High Sierra
Highway West
Hollywood Canteen
Hollywood Hotel
Homicide
Honeymoon for Three
The Horn Blows at Midnight
Hot Heiress
Hot Money
Hotel Berlin

Reel 9

The House Across the Street
The House on 56th Street
Housewife
Humoresque
I am a Fugitive from a Chain Gang
I am a Thief
I Found Stella Parish
I Like Your Nerve
I Live for Love
I Loved a Woman
I Married a Doctor
I Sell Anything
I Was Framed
Illicit
In Caliente
In Our Time
In This Our Life
Indianapolis Speedway
Inspector General
International Squadron
The Invisible Menace
Invisible Stripes
The Irish In Us
Isle of Fury
It All Came True
It's a Great Feeling
It's Love I'm After
It’s Tough to be Famous
I've Got Your Number
Jailbreak
Janie
Janie Gets Married
The Jazz Singer
Jewel Robbery
Jezebel
Jimmy the Gent
John Loves Mary
Johnny Belinda
Journal of a Crime
Juarez

Reel 10

Juke Girl
June Bride
Kansas City Princess
The Kennel Murder Case
The Key
Key Largo
The Keyhole
The Kid Comes Back
The Kid From Kokomo
Kid Galahad
Kid Nightingale
The King and the Chorus Girl
King of Hockey
King of the Lumberjacks
King of the Underworld
King's Row
The King's Vacation
Kiss in the Dark
Kiss Me Again
Kisses For Breakfast
Knockout
Knute Rockne All American
Ladies Must Live
Ladies They Talk About
Lady Gangster
Lady Killer
The Lady Takes a Sailor
Lady Who Dared
Lady With Red Hair
Land Beyond The Law
Larceny Inc.
The Lash
The Last Flight
The Last Ride
The Law In Her Hands
Law of the Tropics
Lawyer Man
The Letter
Life Begins
The Life of Emile Zola
The Life of Jimmy Dolan
The Life of the Party
Lights of New York
Lilac Time
Lilly Turner
Little Big Shot
Little Caesar
The Little Giant

Reel 11

Little Miss Thoroughbred
Living on Velvet
Local Boy Makes Good
Look for the Silver Lining
A Lost Lady
Love and Learn
Love Begins at Twenty
Love, Honor and Behave
Love is a Racket
Love Is On The Air
Mad Genius
Madame Dubarry
Make Your Own Bed
The Male Animal
The Maltese Falcon
Mammy
Man from Monterey
Man Hunt
The Man I Love
Man Of Iron
Man To Man
Man Wanted
The Man Who Came to Dinner
The Man Who Dared (City in Terror)
The Man Who Played God
The Man Who Talked Too Much
The Man With Two Faces
Mandalay
Manhattan Parade
Manpower
Marked Woman
Marry the Girl
Mary Jane's Pa
Mary Stevens, MD
The Mask of Dimitrios
Massacre
The Match King
The Matrimonial Bed
Maybe It 's Love 1
Maybe It's Love 2
The Mayor of Hell
Melody for Two
Men Are Such Fools
Men In Exile
The Merry Frinks
The Merry Wives of Reno
Midnight Alibi
Midnight Court
A Midsummer Night's Dream

Reel 12

Mildred Pierce
Million Dollar Baby
The Millionaire
The Mind Reader
Misbehaving Ladies
Miss Pacific Fleet
Miss Pinkerton
Missing Witnesses
Moby Dick
A Modern Hero
Money and the Woman
Moonlight on the Prairie
Mother's Cry
Mountain Justice
The Mouthpiece
Mr. Chump
Mr. Dodd Takes the Air
Mr. Skeffington
Murder by an Aristocrat
Murder in the Air
Murder in the Clouds
The Murder of Dr. Harrigan
Murder on the Waterfront
My Bill
My Dream is Yours
My Love Came Back
My Past
My Reputation
My Wild Irish Rose
Mystery House
Nancy Drew and the Hidden Staircase
Nancy Drew, Detective
Nancy Drew, Reporter
Nancy Drew, Trouble Shooter
The Narrow Corner
Naughty But Nice
Naughty Flirt
Navy Blues
Never Say Goodbye
Night and Day
A Night At The Ritz
Night Nurse
Night Unto Night
Nine Lives are not Enough
No Place To Go
No Time For Comedy
Noah's Ark
Nobody Lives Forever
Nora Prentiss
Northern Pursuit

Reel 13

Now, Voyager
Numbered Men
The Nurse's Secret
Objective Burma
Of Human Bondage
Off The Record
Oh Sailor Behave
Oil For The Lamps Of China
The Oklahoma Kid
Old Acquaintance
Old English
The Old Maid
On Dress Parade
On Trial
Once A Doctor
On With The Show
On Your Toes
One Foot In Heaven
One Last Fling
One More Tomorrow
One Night At Susie's
One Round Hogan
One Sunday Afternoon
One Way Passage
The Other Tomorrow
Out Of The Fog
Outward Bound
Over The Goal
Over The Wall
Page Miss Glory
The Painted Angel
Parachute Jumper
Paris
Party Husband
Passage From Hongkong
Passage To Marseille
The Patient In Room 18
The Payoff
Penrod and His Twin Brother
Penrod and Sam
Penrod and Sam (2nd version)
Penrod's Double Trouble
The Perfect Specimen
Personal Maid's Secrets
The Personality Kid
The Petrified Forest

Reel 14

Picture Snatcher
Pillow To Post
Play Girl
Playing Around
Polo Joe
Possessed
Prairie Thunder
Pride of the Bluegrass
Pride of the Marines
The Prime Minister
The Prince and The Pauper
Princess O'Rourke
Private Detective
Private Detective 62
The Private Lives of Elizabeth and Essex
Public Enemy
Public Enemy's Wife
Public Wedding
The Purchase Price
Racket Busters
Ready, Willing and Able
Recaptured Love
Red Hot Tires
Registered Nurse
Rhapsody In Blue
The Rich Are Always With Us
Ride Him Cowboy
The Right Of Way
The Right To Live
River's End
Road Gang
Road To Paradise
The Road To Singapore
The Roaring Twenties
Romance On The High Seas
Rope
Roughly Speaking
The Ruling Voice
Safe In Hell
The St. Louis Kid
San Antonio
San Quentin

Reel 15

Santa Fe Trail
The Sap
Saratoga Trunk
Saturday's Children
Say It With Songs
Scarlet Dawn
Scarlet Pages
The Sea Wolf
The Secret Bride
Secret Enemies
Secret Service Of The Air
Secrets of an Actress
Sergeant Murphy
Sergeant York
Sh! The Octopus
Shadow of a Woman
Shadows on the Stairs
She Couldn't Say No
She Had To Say Yes
She Loved a Fireman
Shine On Harvest Moon
Shining Victory
Shipmates Forever
A Shot In The Dark
Showgirl In Hollywood
Show Of Shows
Side Show
Side Streets
The Silk Express
Silver Dollar
Silver River
Sing Me A Love Song
Singapore Woman
The Singing Fool
The Singing Kid
The Singing Marine
Sinner's Holiday
The Sisters
Sit Tight
6 Day Bike Ride
Skin Deep

Reel 16

A Slight Case of Murder
Slim
Smart Blonde
Smart Girls Don't Talk
Smart Money
Smarty
Smashing The Money Ring
The Smiling Ghost
Snowed Under
So Big
So Long Letty
A Soldiers Plaything
Somewhere in Sonora
Son of a Sailor
Son of The Gods
Song of The Saddle
Sonny Boy
Sons O'Guns
Sons of the Sea
South of Suez
Special Agent
Spring is Here
Spy Ship
The Squall
Stage Struck
Stallion Road
Star Witness
Stars Over Broadway
Steel Against The Sky
Stolen Holiday
Stolen Life
The Story of Dr. Erhlich's Magic Bullet
The Story of Louis Pasteur
The Story of Seabiscuit
Stranded
Strange Alibi
The Strange Love of Molly Louvain
Stranger in Town
Strawberry Blonde
Street of Women
Submarine D.I.
A Successful Calamity
Sunny
Sweepstakes Winner
Sweet Adeline
Sweet Kitty Bellairs

Reel 17

Sweet Mama
Sweet Music
Swing Your Lady
T-Men
Talent Scout
Task Force
Taxi
Tear Gas Squad
The Telegraph Trail
The Tenderfoot
Thank Your Lucky Stars
That Certain Woman
That Hagen Girl
That Man's Here Again
That Way With Women
They Call it Sin
They Died with their Boots On
They Drive by Night
They Made Me A Criminal
They Won’t Forget
Thieves Fall Out
This was Paris
Those who Dance
3 Cheers for The Irish
Three Faces East
Three Men on a Horse
3 on a Match
Three Sons O’Guns
Tiger Shark
Til We Meet Again
The Time The Place and The Girl
Times Square Playboy
To Have and Have Not
To the Victor
Too Young to Know
Top Speed
Torchy Blane in Chinatown
Torchy Blane in Panama
Torchy Gets Her Man
Torchy Plays with Dynamite
Torchy Runs for Mayor
Torrid Zone

Reel 18

Tovarich
Trailin West
Traveling Saleslady
Treachery Rides The Range
Treasure of Sierra Madre
Truck Busters
Truth about Youth
Tugboat Annie Sails Again
Twenty Million Sweethearts
20,000 Years in Sing Sing
Two Against The World
Two Against The World (Remake of 'One Fatal Night’)
Two Guys From Milwaukee
Two Guys From Texas
The Two Mrs. Carrolls
Two Seconds
Uncertain Glory
Under Capricorn
Under Eighteen
Underground
Union Depot
The Unsuspected
Untamed Africa
Upper World
Valley of the Giants
Varsity Show
The Verdict
A Very Honorable Guy
The Very Thought Of You
Virginia City
Voltaire
The Wagons Roll at Night
Wallflower
Watch on the Rhine
Waterfront
We are not Alone
Weekend Marriage
We're in the Money
West of Shanghai
When Were You Born?

Reel 19

While the Patient Slept
Whiplash
The White Angel
White Banners
White Bondage
The White Cockatoo (The Clue Club Promotion)
White Heat
Wide Open
Widow from Chicago
The Widow from Monte Carlo
Wild Bill Hickok Rides
Wild Boys of the Road
Wine, Women and Horses
Wings for the Eagle
Wings of the Navy
Winner Takes All
Winter Meeting
Woman From Monte Carlo
The Woman In Red
Woman In White
Women are Like That
Women in the Wind
Wonder Bar
The Working Man
The World Changes
Wyoming Kid (Cheyenne)
Yankee Doodle Dandy
Yes, My Darling Daughter
You Can't Escape Forever
You Can't Get Away With Murder
You Said a Mouthful
The Younger Brothers
You're In The Army Now