LibKey Nomad
Newspapers and Trade Journals
Newspapers are available to the Carleton community through the library in three formats: online, in paper, and in microform. The library only receives a few titles in paper form, which are kept on the 4th floor in the Rookery for about a month until we receive the microform. Access to historical papers is assured through the microform version of these titles and many more, which are kept on the 3rd floor.
Online, the library subscribes to hundreds of titles, which you access through the databases listed below allowing you to search across many papers at once. If you need to know if the library has access to a particular paper, search the Journals List.
Trade publications are also accessible largely through the databases below.
**Comps Writers:
Looking to literature aimed at a popular audience is a good way to explore possible topics and is an efficient way to assess the state of what is known on a given topic. Rather than moving from one in-depth research article to the next, start with some of these sources to find news articles, secondary reports of research, and overviews.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Enormous collection of full-text newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. A great place to search national, international, and local newspapers as well as publications like the Economist and Business Week.
Try clicking the "Business" topic below the main search box for business-focused resources.
(note: does not include the Wall Street Journal) - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of major business publications as well as other newspapers and magazines. - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 1995 to the present for major national and regional papers.
Note: This is the only database that allows you to access the Wall Street Journal. LexisNexis only includes abstracts. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes citations, abstracts, and some full-text for business-related journals. Use this database to find articles from peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, and business magazines. Also use it to find country economic reports, industry reports and yearbooks, and market research reports. - Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A collection of regional business publications. An ELM Database. - Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 5 years ago. Includes full-color page images, exportable financial tables, supplements, special reports, and surveys.
