Scholarship
A more extensive list of article databases can be found in the Political Science Research Guide. Some places to start when looking for legal literature and documents as well as scholarship are:
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find reports on public policy topics from major think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. Covers 1990-current. - Human Rights Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes both primary and secondary materials. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
- Freedom HousePublishes Freedom in the World and Freedom of the Press, annually assessing civil liberties and media independence in 200 countries and territories.
Documents on War Crimes and Genocide
Look for publications and documents from universities and research centers who also study these questions. Some examples (I can help you locate more).
- Cambodia Genocide ProgramResource guide from Yale
- War Crimes Studies CenterFrom Berkeley
- U.S. Institute of Peace - LibraryThe USIP has a huge, very useful library of tools dedicated to conflict and peace building including repositories of relevant primary documents.
United Nations Documents
Researching the United Nations and searching for UN documents can be challenging. Start by understanding the organization and documentation produced with the research guides linked below and hone your search from there.
- Guide to the United NationsAn excellent, comprehensive guide for students and researchers from Columbia Law School.
- UN Documentation: Research GuidesFrom the UN.
- UN Official Documents SystemOfficial repository from the UN. Dates: 1993 forward. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
- UNBISnetAccess to the UN's Index to Speeches. A good place to locate the full text of addresses world leaders deliver.
Darfur Documents
- Darfur Relief & Documentation CentreNews and documents including catalog of UN and AU resolutions.
- Darfur Destroyed - Human Rights Watch77-page report from HRW documenting Sudanese force in Darfur.
- PBS.org - Heart of DarfurExcellent directory to primary source documents.
- ICC - DarfurDocuments from International Criminal Court on Darfur.
Rohingya Documents
- The Plight of the RohingyaReport from the United States Holocaust Museum.
- The Rohingya CrisisA detailed background report from Council on Foreign Relations.
- Save Rohingya from GenocideA report from the Geneva International Centre for Justice.
- Rohingya Crisis - CFR Global Conflict TrackerFrom the Council on Foreign Relations.
Uyghur Resources
- Xinjiang Data ProjectThe Xinjiang Data Project brings together rigorous, empirical research on the human rights situation for Uyghurs and other non-Han nationalities in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (XUAR) in western China.
- Uyghurs Resources from Human Rights WatchNews, Reports, and Daily Briefs.
- Uyghur Human Rights ProjectUHRP publishes reports and analysis, in English and Chinese, to defend Uyghurs’ civil, political, social, cultural, and economic rights according to international human rights standards. UHRP also submits reports and policy recommendations to governments and multilateral bodies like the UN and EU.
- Campaign for UyghursCampaign for Uyghurs (CFU) was founded in 2017 and works to promote and advocate for the human rights and democratic freedoms of Uyghurs and other Turkic people in East Turkistan. It mobilizes individuals and the international community and builds bridges to take action on behalf of and to raise public awareness of the Uyghur genocide with a special focus on women and youth, and to activate persons and entities to work together to stop the genocide against Uyghurs.
- CFR Backgrounder - Repression of Uyghurs in ChiniaFrom the Council on Foreign Relations
Rwanda Documents
Data
- Ethnic Power Relations (EPR) DatasetThe EPR Dataset Family provides data on ethnic groups’ access to state power, their settlement patterns, links to rebel organizations, transborder ethnic kin relations, and intraethnic cleavages.
- Africa's Growth Tragedy: Policies and Ethnic Divisions DatasetEthnic fractionalization. Easterly and Levine's/Worldbank frequently cited dataset covering 160 countries.
- Xinjiang Data ProjectThe Xinjiang Data Project brings together rigorous, empirical research on the human rights situation for Uyghurs and other non-Han nationalities in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region (XUAR) in western China.
