Research Guides: EUST 110: The Power of Place: Memory and Counter-Memory in the European City: Citations for New Scholars

Chicago Quick Guide: Notes & Bibliography!

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide: Notes & Bibliography (ch 14)
Compiled and published by the Chicago Manual of Style (for footnotes and endnote; humanities). Contains examples for how to cite: Book; Chapter or other part of an edited book; Translated book; E-book; Journal article; News or magazine article; Book review; Interview; Personal communication; Thesis or dissertation; Website content; Social media content.
Chapter 14 (footnotes & bibliography; all info) - Chicago Manual of Style
- This link opens in a new window
Rules for how to format footnotes and bibliography entries for all sorts of primary and secondary sources!
Chicago Manual of Style: Annotated bibliography example
Remember that your annotated bibliographies are not simply lists. They are creative, rhetorical devices that map out the scholarly conversation on a topic.

How to Cite Your Sources
by Research/IT Desk Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 18553 views this year

General guidelines for Chicago citations
A 4-minute video that will take you through the basics of footnotes, bibliographies, and how to cite a book.

Benedictow 2004 - Black Death - excerpts, annotated
Title, author, publisher, place of publication, and publication date are all circled.

An example of how to use footnotes and bibliography to find other helpful scholarship.

Zotero
Save, organize, share, and cite your sources -- anything from scholarship to YouTube videos. Our guide has Carleton-specific instructions for installing and using Zotero with personal and lab computers, and for getting the most storage space possible.

It will help you gather the right information the first time
It knows all the ins and outs of Chicago!
It will build a complete bibliography -- formatted correctly! -- with the push of a button!
It's free! You can take it with you when you leave!