LibKey Nomad
Search Reference Books
Use Catalyst to search across our reference collection, where you will more easily find credible and useful background information than just on the free web. You can also just search these reference indexes directly.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides full access to hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical information, images, bibliographies, and links to journal articles, books, and online sources. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative full text collection of the history of scholarship in several different academic subjects. Includes over 260 volumes published since 1960 by Cambridge University Press. - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is a key starting place for research in several different fields, providing bibliographies on current scholarship on topics from the social sciences and humanities. - Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
High quality treatments of major topics, written by major scholars in the field and pointing toward key literature.
Oxford Handbooks includes: The Oxford Handbook of Religion and Europe; Oxford Handbook of Medieval Central Europe; The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe; The Oxford Handbook of Witchcraft in Early Modern Europe and Colonial America; The Oxford Handbook of the Ancien Régime; The Oxford Handbook of the Merovingian World; The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies; The Oxford Handbook of Postwar European History; The Oxford Handbook of European History, 1914-1945; The Oxford Handbook of Early Modern European History, 1350-1750 (2 vols.); The Oxford Handbook of German Politics...AND MORE!
Country Profiles
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. - CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political history, current issues, recent election trends and results, media information, and key demographic and economic facts. - Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Provides up-to-date political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.
- State Department Background NotesThe State Department profiles each country's economy, history, geography, demographics, and recent political history.
Some Suggested Reference Books
Just some ideas to get you started. There will be many more like these. Search Catalyst for your country or topic --> limit to Reference Materials --> or, limit by the subject suggestions along the top or side.
- Catalyst search: Europe + reference material, ebooksEnglish-language online books about Europe that are bibliographies, encyclopedias, or handbooks.
Longman Handbook of Twentieth Century Europe by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0582235081Publication Date: 2014Covering the whole period from Tsarist Russia and Imperial Germany to the Balkan Wars of the 1990's and the final birth of the Euro in 2002, it provides a convenient user-friendly compendium of key fact and figures for the whole of Europe - from the Atlantic to the Urals.
Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Neo-Latin World (2 Vols. ) by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9789004265721Publication Date: 2014Traces the history and cultural influence of Neo-Latin, the form of Latin that originated in the Italian Renaissance and persists to the modern era. Subjects covered range from literature and law to philosophy and the sciences.
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art by ISBN: 1442264667Publication Date: 2016-08-19The Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art has over 700 cross-referenced entries on artists from Italy, Flanders, the Netherlands, Germany, Spain, and Portugal, historical figures and events that impacted the production of Renaissance art.
Oxford Bibliographies: Renaissance and Reformation by Call Number: [online]ISBN: 9780195399301Annotated bibliographies on dozens of topics in the Renaissance and Reformation period (1300-1800) listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions.
Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies by Call Number: [online]ISBN: 0195396588Annotated bibliographies on dozens of topics in Medieval Studies listing authoritative, reliable, and relevant sources for research. Includes contextualizing introductions.
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 by Call Number: Ref HN373 .E63 2001 v.1 - 6Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An outstanding source of historiographical essays and factual articles on European social history; most longer essays have excellent bibliographies. v. 1. Methods and theoretical approaches -- The periods of social history -- Regions, nations, and peoples -- Europe and the world -- v. 2. Processes of social change -- Population and geography -- Cities and urbanization -- Rural life -- State and society -- v. 3. Social structure -- Social protest -- Deviance, crime, and social control -- Social problems and social reform -- v. 4. Gender -- The family and age groups -- Sexuality -- Body and mind -- Work -- v. 5. Culture and popular culture -- Modern recreation and leisure -- Religion -- Education and literacy -- Everyday life -- v. 6. Biographies
