Evaluating Media
HINT: Use the information you gather about media outlets and the historical context for individual countries and regions to help you frame media. The news sources and resources on this page are a good start, but you may need to expand beyond these sources to include more digital media and other national papers, depending on your project.
Current European News
Includes news sources in many languages
- ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world. Covers 1995-2013.
- Vox EuropA European news and debate website, publishing in ten languages. Includes many opinion pieces and political cartoons.
- EurozineAggregated and translated articles about current events from various European journals and magazines.
- RadioFreeEurope / Radio LibertyFunded by the US Government, RFE/RL journalists report the news in 23 countries where a free press is banned by the government or not fully established, including Russia and portions of Central Europe.
- European Union Newsroom (Europa) [2013-present]Use the EU Newsroom to find current events news. Visit the websites for individual institutions and bodies for their own official press releases, photos, videos, speeches, etc, that were published after 2009 (post-Bulletin).
Historical World Newspapers
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional, and state titles as well as small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- Times Digital Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text page images of The Times (London) from 1785 to current (except for the most recent 5 years). Includes articles as well as advertisements, illustrations, and photos.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers); plus ABC (Spain), Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827. - Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The complete run of the world’s first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. Covers 1842 - 2003. - 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A full-text archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom, 1604 - 1804. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this is the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. - FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the globe, 1941 - 1996. - World Newspaper Archive: Africa This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe. Covers 1800 - 1922. - World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere. Covers 1805 - 1922. - World Newspaper Archive: South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of South Asian newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes titles from India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Covers 1805 - 1973. - Chinese Newspapers: Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers. Contents include: Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1912-1949).
- Historical Jewish PressA collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods ranging from 1783 - 2014.
- Google News
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of historical newspapers from the US and around the world digitized by Google through their News Archives Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled. Use /dat=yyyy/ to help narrow down date of publication. - Wikipedia: List of online newspaper archives
- This link opens in a new window
An exhaustive listing of free and pay wall blocked digital online newspaper archives in the US and worldwide.
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century, all available in full text. Also allows searching for cartoons, photographs, illustrations, and other images. Covers 1680 - 1930.
Non-English Historical newspapers
- CRL Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A collection including foreign newspapers on microfilm, on paper, and digital. Filmed material may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
- BNF Newspapers (French)Includes titles such as: Le monde, Le journal, Le matin, and Le Petit journal. Dates generally range from about mid-19th century to early 20th century.
- Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Roma (Italian)Includes manuscripts and small press ephemera from 18th-early 20th c.
- Historical Jewish PressA collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods ranging from 1783 - 2014.
