Key Reference Sources
Search through hundreds of subject encyclopedias at once.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection. - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The definitive dictionary of the English language, including past and present meanings and pronunciations. - Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through in-depth author bibliographies from around the world. - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A standard work of reference on notable figures from British history, published and continually updated from 1885 to the present.
- Bartleby.com
This link opens in a new window
A multi-use reference site, which includes links to Bartlett's Familiar Quotations (as well as other quotation resources), Roget's Thesaurus, dictionaries, English usage resources, and literary reference works such as a hypertext version of the 18-volume Cambridge History of English and American Literature.
LibKey Nomad
Remote Access
Historical Texts and the Scholarship of Historians
For more options while you're searching...
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The index to scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. You can even specify a date range in history that you're interested in reading about! - Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Indexes a wide array of international art literature back to 1929. Also indexes reproductions included in these publications. Includes some full text for literature from 1997 to the present. - ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Covers 1949 - current. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The key database for educational-related literature. You may also search ERIC through the free U.S. Department of Education website. 1907 - current. An ELM Database. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The index to scholarly literature on the history of the world (including South and Central America). - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The premier search tool for all areas of psychology and related disciplines. Covers 1840 - current.
Note: There are fewer than 115 records from earlier than 1894. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in sociology, but can also be used for finding scholarly work on cultural studies. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students. - America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
This digital collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera published in America from 1652-1900, all full-text searchable. - American Founding Era Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains digital editions of the collected papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, John Marshall, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney-Horry, the Revolutionary-Era Pinckney Statesmen, Gouverneur Morris, as well as documents pertaining to the ratification of the Constitution and biographical information on over 25,000 people of the Founding Era. - Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Contains texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document American History.
NOTE: The Library of Congress has migrated all collections from the American Memory Project into this new platform. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A digitized collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1920. - American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. - ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of digitized books published in the eighteenth century, 1701 - 1800. - NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A rich collection of primary sources created or published in the nineteenth century. - New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
A rich collection of primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more. - OAIster This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This searches across many digital collections. Like American Memory, one good strategy is to use this find out which individual collections contain the type of material you want to see and then browse or search those collections separately. Note that you can use the "keyword" search option to search for types of materials as well as their subjects, so, for example, you could search for "postcards" and "political" to find collections that contain postcards having to do with political topics
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
This digital collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera published in America from 1652-1900, all full-text searchable.
This digital collection contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera published in America from 1652-1900, all full-text searchable.
American Founding Era Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains digital editions of the collected papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, John Marshall, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney-Horry, the Revolutionary-Era Pinckney Statesmen, Gouverneur Morris, as well as documents pertaining to the ratification of the Constitution and biographical information on over 25,000 people of the Founding Era.
Contains digital editions of the collected papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James and Dolley Madison, Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson, John Jay, John Marshall, Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney-Horry, the Revolutionary-Era Pinckney Statesmen, Gouverneur Morris, as well as documents pertaining to the ratification of the Constitution and biographical information on over 25,000 people of the Founding Era.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Contains texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document American History.
NOTE: The Library of Congress has migrated all collections from the American Memory Project into this new platform.
Contains texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document American History.
NOTE: The Library of Congress has migrated all collections from the American Memory Project into this new platform.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A digitized collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1920.
A digitized collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1920.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
Search through legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of digitized books published in the eighteenth century, 1701 - 1800.
A collection of digitized books published in the eighteenth century, 1701 - 1800.
NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A rich collection of primary sources created or published in the nineteenth century.
A rich collection of primary sources created or published in the nineteenth century.
New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
A rich collection of primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
A rich collection of primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
OAIster This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This searches across many digital collections. Like American Memory, one good strategy is to use this find out which individual collections contain the type of material you want to see and then browse or search those collections separately. Note that you can use the "keyword" search option to search for types of materials as well as their subjects, so, for example, you could search for "postcards" and "political" to find collections that contain postcards having to do with political topics
Digitized collections of historical documents:
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students. - 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A full-text archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom, 1604 - 1804. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this is the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century, all available in full text. Also allows searching for cartoons, photographs, illustrations, and other images. Covers 1680 - 1930. - ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of digitized books published in the eighteenth century, 1701 - 1800. - EEBO: Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A collection of early English books and tracts, 1475 - 1700. - Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across primary documents in economic history from major British and American libraries. Covers 1450 - 1914. - NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A rich collection of primary sources created or published in the nineteenth century. - Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text page images of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2019. Includes articles as well as advertisements, illustrations, and photos.
News Sources
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains the full text and images from historical American newspapers, 1690 - 1922. Also includes sub-collections of African American Newspapers, Ethnic American Newspapers, and Hispanic Newspapers. Languages covered include English, Spanish, Yiddish, French, German, and Japanese. - CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan. - Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes full text of English-language and Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries, 1808 - 1980. - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across fully digitized newspapers, including all articles, advertisements, and illustrations. - ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers); plus ABC (Spain), Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827.
Poole's index to periodical literatureCall Number: REF: AI3 .P726Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Indexes periodical literature from 1802-1881. Five supplements bring the coverage up to 1906. Find the articles you need and then use ILL to request those articles.
- Carleton online newspapersWe collect a variety of news sources online, historical and current.
- 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A full-text archive of newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom, 1604 - 1804. Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this is the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library. - Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The complete run of the world’s first fully illustrated weekly newspaper. Covers 1842 - 2003. - NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of pages of full-text primary sources created and/or published in the nineteenth century. This collection contains many kinds of historical texts from English language sources, but also a large collection of newspapers from Great Britain. - Times Digital Archive 1785 Onwards This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text page images of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2019. Includes articles as well as advertisements, illustrations, and photos.
