LibKey Nomad
Search Carleton's Physical Archives
- Carleton College Archives Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Search all known records of archival photographs, documents, and artifacts at Carleton College Archives, many of which are available in digitized form. Visit the User Guide for help.
Major Digital Collections
- Carleton's Archival Digital CollectionsA curated list of collections available online that draw on from materials held in the College Archives.
- Carletonian Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through full text information)
Full text access to the Carletonian, going back to the very beginning! Covers 1887 - one year ago. For recent issues, visit The Carletonian Online. - Algol Yearbook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The Carleton College yearbook documents the life of the college. Named for the variable star, Algol, it was first published in 1889 by the Class of 1890. While the Algol appeared sporadically during its early years, it became an annual volume in 1923 and was published through 2010. - Carleton Voice - the alumni magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Carleton has published a regular alumni magazine since 1920, now available in full text online. Titles included are Alumni Magazine (1910-1916), Carleton College News Bulletin (1918-1925), Carleton Circle (1925-1932), Voice of the Carleton Alumni (1935-1970), Carleton, the Voice of the Alumni (1970-1973), and Carleton College Voice (1974-present). - Carleton College Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes recorded interviews with Carleton faculty, alumni, staff and others covering their individual experiences at Carleton. 1971-2021
- Carleton College Academic CatalogsCarleton printed its first Academic Catalog in 1876 and each thereafter until 2009. In this collection we have attached a copy of the Schedule of Classes for each year 1959-2009. These schedules provide information about course additions and cancellations from the time the Academic Catalog for that year was published.
- Carleton College Historical Documents This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This growing digital collection comprises a variety of materials relating to the history of Carleton College, campus development, and buildings. Included are early campus maps, blueprints & architectural drawings for campus buildings, miscellaneous letters and documents. Covers 1866 - present.
- Domke and Caton Photographs from China, 1936-1939
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of photographs taken by Paul C. Domke and John R. Caton who taught English in the Ming I Middle School in Fenyang, Shanxi Province, China through the "Carleton-in-China" (C-in-C) program.
Some Reminders
-
Just because it isn’t in the Archives database doesn’t mean that it doesn’t exist.
-
Some of the tools listed here allow you to search the full text of documents and others are searching only the descriptive words about these documents (or metadata). Each has advantages and disadvantages. Acquaint yourself with the kind of search options allowed.
-
Be aware that names of buildings, offices, and departments change over time.
-
Searching is an iterative and creative process. If you don't find what you think you should be finding, brainstorm alternative keywords.
