Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Archival Research at Carleton

We want you to use the Archives! Here are some tips for ensuring a wonderful visit.

Where to Find Us

The Archives is located on the first floor of Gould Library.   

Hours:
M-F 9-12, and 1-4, by appointment

Lots of ways to contact us: 

  • call x4270
  • send an email archives@carleton.edu
  • use the "contact us" link in the Archives Database

Best Practices

Because the majority of materials in our collection are unique, unpublished items and are often fragile, old, or valuable, we ask that researchers work with us to preserve the history of the college by following these guidelines: 

  1. Researchers must sign in when they arrive.   
  2. Materials may not leave the Archives.
  3. Use care when handling materials. Because residue from lotions, hand sanitizer, food, etc. can remain on hands and easily damage older materials even when hands appear clean, researchers are asked to wash and dry hands when they come to the Archives. While clean, dry hands are typically sufficient to protect materials from damage, researchers may occasionally be asked to wear gloves (cotton or latex) when handling film, photographs, and other materials.
  4. Ask for assistance before scanning or photographing materials.
  5. Ink pens are not allowed in the research room.  Pencils are available. Computer or tablets may be used.
  6. Coats must be hung on the coat rack. Bags and other belongings must be left on the floor nearby the coat rack or in the College Archivist's office.
  7. No food or liquid can be allowed in the Archives.