Rare Book (original)

Footnotes

1. Jane Austen, Emma: a Novel (London: Printed for John Murray, 1816), 15, The Bob and Carolyn Nelson First Edition Collection, Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

2. Pliny, Historia mundi naturalis C. Plinii Secundi: hoc est amplissimum, lucidissimum, perspicacissimumque, nec non plane mirandum totius vniuersi, rerumque naturalium speculum [...] (Frankfurt, 1582), 148, Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

Bibliography

Austen, Jane. Emma: a Novel. London: Printed for John Murray, 1816. The Bob and Carolyn Nelson First Edition Collection. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

Pliny. Historia mundi naturalis C. Plinii Secundi: hoc est amplissimum, lucidissimum, perspicacissimumque, nec non plane mirandum totius vniuersi, rerumque naturalium speculum [...]. Frankfurt, 1582. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

Rare Book (facsimile)

Footnote

2. The Hours of Catherine of Cleves, facsimile with introduction and commentaries by John Plummer (Utrecht, Netherlands, ca. 1440; fac. New York: G. Braziller, 1966), 26. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN. Citations refer to the 1966 edition.

**Note that you may choose to cite either the original page numbers or the facsimile page numbers -- just be clear which one it is!

Bibliography

The Hours of Catherine of Cleves. Utrecht, Netherlands, ca. 1440. Facsimile with introduction and commentaries by John Plummer. New York: G. Braziller, 1966. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN. 

Related rules

• On manuscripts, footnotes (14.127: Examples of note forms for manuscript collections)

• On manuscripts, bibliography (14.128: Examples of bibliography entries for manuscript collections)

• On facsimile editions (14.16: Reprint editions and modern editions)

• On honorifics and titles in author names (13.85: Authors known by a given name)

• On anonymous works (13.81: No listed author (anonymous works))

• On excessively long titles (13.99: Older titles and very long titles)

• On place of publication (14.31: Place and date only, for books published before 1900)