Librarian
Articles
The best way to find articles is searching Catalyst, the library's databases, and Google Scholar. We have a lot of databases that cover environmental topics. Some specific databases that may be useful in particular cases are listed on this page.
Environmental Studies Database
- ProQuest Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
This tool searches across the AGRICOLA, ESPM, and EIS databases, and it provides full-text titles from around the world. It includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Covers 1960-current.
Core ENTS Journals
Use the links below to search these journals directly.
Google Scholar
Multidisciplinary Databases
The following databases index scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and trade journals. Often the full text of the articles is included.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database.
Scientific and Technical Articles:
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A massive index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
Economic, Sociological, and Policy-Related Articles:
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current. - ProQuest Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search across several individual databases at once: PAIS Index, Policy File Index, ProQuest Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. - ProQuest Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
The ideal starting point for public health information and research. Contains core public health literature including journals, news, trade publications, reports and more.
Newspaper articles
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of major business publications as well as other newspapers and magazines.
