This research guide provides an overview for locating information about the scholarly study of the Bible. It also provides information about how to find different versions of the Bible in the Carleton Library. This guide was created by Reference & Instruction intern, Emika Otsuka, Political Science and International Relations '20.

You can find physical Bibles and works about the Bible (criticism and interpretation, study and teaching, etc.) on the first floor of the library (call numbers from BS1 to BS2765.6).

This spreadsheet lists most of the Bibles in the collection (as of May 2019).

Gould First Floor

We have a collection of Bibles in Special Collections, which is located on the 1st floor of the library next to the Archives. Here is a list of some of the Bibles in the Special Collections.

Here are some things you need to keep in mind before using these resources.

1. Please make an appointment via e-mail before your visit (specialcollections@carleton.edu). 
2. Special Collections is open Monday through Friday (9am - 4pm). 
3. Materials in Special Collections do not circulate. All materials must be used in the Special Collections reading room.

Since St. Olaf College incorporates Biblical and Theological studies into their core curriculum, they have an extensive collection of Bibles. St. Olaf has some versions that we do not own (e.g. New International Version, Fenton Version, Bishops' Version, etc.), so we would recommend you to look into their collections (their collections show up in Catalyst, too).

You can borrow their books (you can place a request through Catalyst or borrow material at their library's circulation desk with your OneCard). Regarding St.Olaf library's borrowing policies, please refer to their website. 

They also have an online Bible reseach guide, which includes information of Bible citation, concordances, atlas, and commentaries in addtion to seach tips and Bible-related articles and books.