Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Bibles at Gould Library

Searching for bible versions can be more complicated than you think! Refer to this guide for advice.

Tips for Your Search: How to Find Bible Texts OR How to find Bible versions

Catalyst
All Formats

  1.  It is best to not start by typing "Bible" in the main Catalyst search box, as this search is only a keyword search that will return many results, including results not relevant to Bibles, and reference works in additional to actual Bible texts.
  2.  In order to find Bibles in Catalyst: 
    • a. Begin with Advanced Search
    • b. Select a `titles/series` (field selection) to search for Bibles by title. 
    • c. Searching for authorized version (i.e King James) is a good way to search for bible versions. In order to find it in Catalyst, type in "Bible. English. Authorized" into a main search box. Here is an example
    • d. You can use the same formula for different versions as well (e.g. Revised Standard Version: "Bible. English. Revised Standard").  
    • e. The same goes for a specific book of the Bible. For example, when you are looking for Genesis, type in "Bible.Genesis" in the first search bar of the Advanced Search, and then limit the search to title/series and run the search. Here is an example. 
  3. Once you've got results in front of you, you can limit your search more by a feature called, "Refine My Results," which is located on the left side of the Catalyst results page, by specifying some information such as material type, genre, publication date, language, etc. 

NOTE: Some of the Bibles are "Reference Books", which are located on the 4th floor of the library. Please note that they do not circulate. However, most of the Bible collections are located on the 1st floor (BS stack) and do circulate. 

Recommended Websites and Databases

Bibles in Special Collections

We have a collection of Bibles in Special Collections, which is located on the 1st floor of the library next to the Archives (see map in the home page). Here are some things you need to keep in mind before using these resources.

  1. Please make an appointment via e-mail before your visit (specialcollections@carleton.edu). 
  2. Special Collections is open Monday through Friday (9am - 4pm). 
  3. Materials in Special Collections do not circulate. All materials must be used in the Special Collections reading room. 
  4. Most Bibles in the Special Collections are King James Version (Authorized Version). 

Here is a list of English Bibles in the Special Collections. They also have Bibles in foreign languages. 

Resources at St.Olaf Library

Since St. Olaf College incorporates Biblical and Theological studies into their core curriculum, they have an extensive collection of Bibles. St. Olaf has some versions that we do not own (e.g. New International Version, Fenton Version, Bishops' Version, etc.), so we would recommend you to look into their collections (their collections show up in Catalyst, too).

You can borrow their books (you can place a request through Catalyst or borrow material at their library's circulation desk with your OneCard). Regarding St.Olaf library's borrowing policies, please refer to their website

They also have an online Bible reseach guide, which includes information of Bible citation, concordances, atlas, and commentaries in addtion to seach tips and Bible-related articles and books.