Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
Welcome!
Welcome to the BIO 126 Research Guide! Here you will find resources to help you with your biology research. Use the side navigation to find:
- Resources to find articles on your topic
- How to install and use Zotero
- Information on how to cite your sources in the American Naturalist citation style
If you need assistance identifying additional resources, search terms or strategies, you can email Sean (smleahy@carleton.edu) or stop by the Reference Desk!
Finding Articles
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text) Includes all the databases in the Natural Science and Technology collections. It also provides full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. Covers 1946-current.
- ProQuest Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including, scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Covers 1946 - current. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The US National Institutes of Health provide this free index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. If full text is not linked to or provided for a particular citation, search our Journals List to see if we have alternate access to the journal publishing that article. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles in this collection offer comprehensive summaries of the state of research on topics from many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences, including Anthropology, Sociology and Political Science. Covers 1997 - current.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A great source for life sciences and biomedical research. Includes scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and more. Covers 1926 - current.
