Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
Intergovernmental organizations are major data producers. Familiarize yourself with these, their methods, and objectives.
Some core sources to learn are:
- IFS: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Thousands of time series covering more than 200 countries and areas, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1945 - current. - OECD Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Starting point for links to OECD statistics and data. We don't subscribe to all OECD data but can obtain publications via interlibrary loan if needed. - UNData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A single gateway to the UN's 24 statistical databases and 60+ million records). - WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Covers 1960 - present.
Note: For data documentation, see the print reference book: World Development Indicators, at call number Ref HC 59.15 .W656.
Nongovernmental Organizations (NGOs)
Start searching for information on NGOs by
- Reviewing some excellent library research guides.
- Then turning to the larger directories and search engines.
- Duke NGO Research GuideVery useful guide from Duke with NGO listings plus research strategies.
- UN NGO DatabaseThere are currently 3000+ NGOs with consultative status to the UN Economic and Social Council, searchable in this database.
- Google custom NGO searchSearch of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).
