Why start here?
Reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks provide synoptic articles that can help you quickly learn about areas of inquiry new to you. Additionally -- and this is where they become powerful tools -- they include brief bibliographies written by experts. It's like being given a reading list of the most important works by an expert in the field.
Online Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides full access to hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical information, images, bibliographies, and links to journal articles, books, and online sources.
Country Information
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an introductory survey of recent history, government, basic population and production statistics, the names of government officials, major news and special interest publications, and lists of political parties . See particularly this article on Japanese Economic Development.
- Political Handbook of the WorldSimilar to the above; includes additional sections on world and regional issues, a chronology of major international events, and a list of memberships in the UN and its specialized and related agencies.
The Statesman's Yearbook by Call Number: JA51 .S7ISBN: 9780230248021Publication Date: 2011-08-15Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- World Development ReportsReviews recent trends in the world economy and their implications for developing countries, role of foreign trade in the industrialization of developing countries, and an appendix with World Development Indicators.
- World Resources ReportAn annual publication of the World Resources Institute about environmental and development issues, aimed at policy-makers. Often contains very helpful statistical tables and maps. See the most recent report about climate change policy.
Encyclopedias: Japan
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by Call Number: Ref DS822.5 .E516 2002ISBN: 0415143446Publication Date: 2001-12-14Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Topical articles ranging from "Individualism" to "Manga" to "Feminism" to "Family, Gender and Society"
There are many more in the collections. Just search the keyword 'Japan' then, under 'Collections' on the right, narrow to 'Reference Materials.'
Modern Japan by Call Number: CC Ref DS805 .M63 1998ISBN: 0815325258Publication Date: 1997Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Historical Dictionary of Postwar Japan by Call Number: CC Ref DS889 .H569 2011ISBN: 0810854600Publication Date: 2011Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy by Call Number: CC Ref HC462.9 .H73 1999ISBN: 0262082802Publication Date: 1999Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Call Number: CC Ref HC15 .O94 and OnlineISBN: 0195105079See especially the entry on Japan.
Customs and Culture
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by Call Number: CC Ref ML102.P66 C66 2003ISBN: 0826463215Publication Date: 2003Availability and more information from Catalyst...- Encyclopedia of Religion
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 002865997XPublication Date: 2005Availability and more information from Catalyst...
See entry on Japan and Japanese Religions in vol. 7. 
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: CC Reference GN 333 .W67 1998
