LibKey Nomad
Minnesota Resources
- Minnesota Pollution Control AgencyGroup that monitors environmental quality and enforces environmental legislation. Includes an Environmental Justice Advisory Group and gallery of maps.
Environmental Justice Resources
This list is just to get you started. For many more data sources and help, look at the library data guide and come see me for even more ideas.
- EPA EJViewVery cool mapping tool from EPA. Enter in a location down to zip code or coordinates and generate map with environmental justice-related locations.
- Data from National Center for Environmental HealthThis Web site provides a reference list of nationally funded data systems that have a relationship to environmental public health. It highlights the major data systems with a national scope where public health and environmental data can be directly downloaded from the Internet.
- National Center for Health StatisticsAccess detailed statistics, databases, and public use data files on all aspects of U.S. public health.
- EPA: Environmental Protection AgencyWeb site allows access to environmental data, chemical factsheets, consumer information, and much more.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address.
- Center for Earth, Energy, and DemocracyCEED conducts research and provides community education on important energy, environment, and development issues – so that all members of society may effectively participate in public decision-making.
U.S. Resources
Select internet resources for ENTS research.
- Ecology WWW pageA huge directory to links about the environment, maintained by volunteer experts in the field.
- EnviroLinkDirectory to links about environmental topics.
- Encyclopedia of EarthA volunteer expert-created, expert-reviewed encyclopedia.
- National Council for Science and the Environment"The National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking."
- Environmental Working GroupA watchdog organization providing ratings and reports on environmental and health safety for various consumer products.
- Legal PlanetFrom the UC Berkeley School of Law. Provides analysis of Supreme Court decisions, regulatory actions, and legislation that impacts water resource management, toxic waste disposal, renewable energy, air quality, land use, and other issues.
International
- International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database ProjectThe International Environmental Agreements (IEA) Database Project seeks to foster analysis of international environmental agreements (IEAs) by providing a "single source" repository for most information related to IEAs and the evaluation of their influence.
- Scorecard from GoodguideRanks counties according to various environmental factors including air pollution, Superfund sites, and more. Provides an "environmental justice" ranking.
Google Search
Don't overlook "advanced Google" techniques. These help break through cumbersome websites, locate working and nonpublished papers, turn up conference presentations, and find data from NGOs and IGOs.
example: environment ~policy Latin America 2000..2009 filetype:pdf
| ~ (tilda) | synonyms |
| inurl:gov; inurl:org; inurl:edu | searches only these domains |
| filetype:pdf; filetype:xls; filetype:ppt | searches for only these types of documents |
| date..date (2008..2009) | searches for documents relevant to those years |
| site:carleton.edu |
searches for files from within this site only |
Tips from Google on these techniques and more.
Another article exposing great hidden Google search tips.
