LibKey Nomad
Library Research Guide for Government Documents
- Government Documents GuideInformation about and links to important government documents resources in and out of the library.
Sources
Many current government publications are available online for free or through a subscription database.
- Science.govA gateway and search engine for scientific information published by the US government. You can find a lot of environmental information through this page.
- National Library for the EnvironmentAn excellent source of non-partisan Congressional Research Service reports on environmental topics. Look at the "Reference Resources" list for help getting started in particular subjects.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
provides full text access to legislative information, including laws, bills, testimony from congressional hearings, and regulations.
- U.S. Department of EnergyWeb site supplies a wealth of information about energy stores, production, and consumption worldwide.
- EPA: Environmental Protection AgencyWeb site allows access to environmental data, chemical factsheets, consumer information, and much more.
- US Geological SurveyWeb site provides (sometimes free) access to maps and remote sensing data.
- Department of Energy Data Explorer: Subject CategoriesAccess to the Department of Energy's data collections. These collections are funded in whole or part by the DOE. All collections are available for free.
Library Holdings of Government Information
Gould Library has an extensive collection of print U.S. federal documents and links to electronic documents. To locate relevant documents, search by keyword in Catalyst or browse the following areas of the Government Documents collection on Level 1:
- A13 - U.S. Forest Service
- C55 - U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
- E2 - U.S. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
- EP - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- I19 - U.S. Geological Survey
- I29 - U.S. Park Service
- I49 - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
- I53 - U.S. Bureau of Land Management
See this research guide for more information on government documents in our collection and in general.
