Most Important Indexes to the Literature
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A massive index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.
New Palgrave
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Call Number: CC Reference HB61 .N49 2008 v.1-8 (newer edition online)Publication Date: 2018Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Synoptic, signed articles and bibliographies provide information on methods, models, theories, schools, and prominent figures in economics.
EconLit Tips
EconLit is the main index to Economics journal literature and is created by the American Economic Association. A search in this database of citations allows you to search across the contents of 100s of journals at once.
Guidance for searching EconLit
Tips for making the most of your search in this key index of Economic scholarly literature.
Some of the JEL subject descriptors of particular use to this seminar are:
- C-Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
- H-Public Economics
- K-Law and Economics
- O-Economic Development
- Q-Environmental and Ecological Economics
Remember that both searching and browsing are worthwhile strategies. Spend some time with keywords and some time browsing the contents of specific journals or articles assigned specific subject headings.
Google Scholar - General Tips
Here are some general tips to keep in mind when searching Google Scholar.
1. Be sure to set your Scholar preferences to search the Gould library database holdings to check for our access to the full text. This link is in the upper-right-hand corner of the home page.
2. To get to the full-text of articles and other items from your search results, remember to follow the links on the right-hand side of the page.
3. If you are an EndNote user, you can also set your Scholar preferences to import citations to EndNote.
Librarian
Contact reference@carleton.edu
