International Trade Statistics
See the next box below for data specifically on trade between the US and its partners.
- DOTS: Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes time series of value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1980 - current. - IFS: International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Carleton's subscription provides access to far more data than what is available to the general public. - BOPS: Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Data query tool)
Search through quarterly and annual time-series data on international economic transactions and international investment position, published by the International Monetary Fund. Covers 1960 - current.
- World Bank Trade Data & StatisticsLinks to variety of (very useful) data and publication sources on trade from the World Bank.
- UNCTAD - Foreign Direct Investment Database"The FDI database presents aggregate inflows, outflows, inward stocks and outward stocks of foreign direct investment (FDI) for 196 reporting economies in an interactive format."
- UNCTAD - World Investment Directory OnlineCountry Fact Sheets contain most relevant indicators about FDI for 188 economies; FDI in Brief has information about flows and stocks for 80 economies; FDI in Profile has information about flows and stocks for 112 economies.
- WITS, TRAINS, & ComtradeTariff and trade flow information for more than 160 countries.
- UN ComtradeThis international trade database from the United Nations provides export and import statistics by country, by commodity, by year to 1962. Register for access. Not all data is available for free but much of it is.
- UN Historical Trade DataA table of international trade statistics for 1900 to 1960, created by the UN (preliminary only).
- UN Trade Statistics BranchProvides data in three main areas of international trade: International Merchandise Trade Statistics (IMTS), Statistics of International Trade in Services (SITS) and Distributive Trade Statistics (DTS)
- UNCTADstatTrade data from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, in customizable tables for download. Time series from 1980-2012.
- Global Preferential Trade Agreements DatabaseFrom the World Bank and the Center for International Business at Tuck Business School, the GPTAD provides information on preferential trade agreements around the world including those not notified to the WTO.
- O.A.S.'s Foreign Trade Information System:The Organization of American State's Foreign Trade Information System. Locate the full text of trade agreements in force for OAS states as well as other trade-related information.
- World Bank Data on Trade and Import BarriersA comprehensive collection of data from the World Bank on trade barriers and related topics: trends in average applied tariff rates in developing and industrial countries.
- World Trade Organization's (WTO) Docs OnlineThe database for the WTO's official documentation, including agreements.
- WTO International Trade and Tariff StatisticsLocate trade and tariff statistics including: WTO's publication, Annual Trade Statistics (1998-present); comprehensive tariff data for all members; current trade statistics in database form; World Tariff Profiles; regional and preferential trade agreements.
- CNTS Data Archive (Cross-National Time Series) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
From Arthur S. Banks, to quantify variables covered in Stateman's Yearbook. Over 200 indicators spanning 200 countries, some dating to 1815. Variables cover trade, conflict, infrastructure, expenditure, more. - Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes historical financial data dating back to 1265. Includes datasets in 10 topics: Asset Allocation, Commodities, Economic, Equity, Exchange Rates, Fixed Income, Development, Government and Debt, International Trade, and National Accounts. NOTE: You will need to set up a personal account and log in using your Carleton email address in order to access.
- KOF Globalization IndexMeasures economic, social, political dimensions of globalization across 158 countries, 1970-2007. From Alex Dreher.
- MAcMapDatabase of tariffs and trade policies.
- WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1000+ economic, social, environmental, and governance time series indicators (1960-current) across 200 countries and 18 country groups.
- TradeProd: the CEPII Trade, Production and Bilateral Protection DatabaseBilateral trade figures according to a standard industrial classification system. 26 industrial sectors across 151 countries, 1980 - 2006.
- World Trade Organization - Trade Monitoring DatabaseTrade measures implemented by WTO members and observers since October 2008.
Treaties
See also the library guide to Treaties research.
U.S. and its trading partners
- Foreign Trade Statistics, U.S. Census BureauFrom the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes statistics such as top trading partners (1998-present); trade in goods by country (1985-present); historical series such as U.S. International Trade in Goods, (annual, 1960-present); U.S. Imports of Crude Oil (monthly, 1973-present); and much more.
- Office of U.S. Trade Representative:Locate information on U.S. trade agreements in force. Search for trade policy and agreements by country, region, or sector.
- Trade Compliance Center, U.S. Department of Commerce:Hosts a database of U.S. trade agreements: search by agremeent or view a list of all agreements by country. Also view trade policy review reports by country.
- U.S. Courts of International TradeThis court hears matters pertaining to the U.S. and trade. Locate slip opinions from 1999-present. Also locate rules and procedures.
- U.S. Free Trade Agreements (2016)Information on U.S. free trade agreements.
- U.S. Harmonized Tariff ScheduleInformation on the U.S. tariffs by country, by product.
- Office of Trade Agreements Negotiations and Compliance (TANC): TARA: Trade and Related Agreements DatabaseSearch and view trade agreements; also view general trade trends and data.
- TradeStates ExpressNational trade data and state export data, available through a data query tool: retrieve, visualize, analyze, and customize the data.
- Export.gov Trade DataAll data available from export.gov
- USA Trade OnlineLatest official statistics on U.S. foreign trade. Must be accessed within Gould Library with the assistance of a reference librarian.
Librarian
Social Science Librarian
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 466
Contact reference@carleton.edu
Contact reference@carleton.edu
