Skip to Main Content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

EndNote

Information and tips to effectively use the EndNote Program.

Adding references to your EndNote library

Option 1: The "Capture References" Bookmarklet

  1. In Endnote Online, click on "Downloads" and then drag the "Capture References" bookmarklet to your bookmark toolbar.
  2. When you're on a page that you'd like to save to Endnote Online, click the "Capture References" bookmarklet.
  3. Fill in or correct whatever information you can in the Capture References box.
  4. Click "Save."

Option 2: Web of Knowledge, other Clarivate databases, and EBSCO databases allow Direct Export to EndNote Online

  1. As you find relevant sources in these databases, mark them by clicking the check-box next to the record.
  2. When you're finished searching
    1. In Web of Knowldge or similar databases, at the top of your result list select "Save to EndNote Online" from the menu. Then be sure to save the "Full Record."
    2. In EBSCO databases, "Export" and then select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."

Option 3: A few databases allow you to search them through the "Collect" Tab in EndNote Online

  1. Use the "Online Search" section of Endnote Online's "Collect" tab and select the research database you wish to use. (You may have to first choose databases to be your "favorites" using the link next to listed databases.)
    NOTE: Databases that have been configured to work at Carleton have "CC" after the database name. If you do not see "CC" you will likely not be able to search that database. If you do not see "CC" next to any databases (check Web of Science as an example), you need to go back to Step 3 of the installation process.
  2. Conduct your search and check the boxes next to any item you want to save.
  3. Above your search results, use the "Add to group" menu to save selected references to your EndNote library.

Option 4: For all other research databases...

  1. In the research database, mark or save records that you want to import into EndNote.
  2. When saving/exporting the records select an option that names EndNote, or if none name EndNote then select an option that includes "RIS"
  3. In EndNote Online, click "Collect" and then "Import References"
  4. Select the file that you just downloaded from the research database
  5. Select an Import Option that best matches the database you were in. If you can't find anything that looks like a good match, try "ProCite RIS."
  6. Select the collection/folder where you want to put the new items
  7. Click "Import"

Organizing your Library

You can create "Groups" that are essentially folders within EndNote.

  1. In EndNote Online, click on Organize.
  2. Add, rename, delete, or manage sharing for subcollections within your library.
  3. Back in "My References" select items that you want to add to a group by checking the selection box to the left of the item.
  4. Use the dropdown menu above your reference list to "Add to group..." and select the group you want to add those references to.

Citing your references in your papers using EndNote Online

On a College Lab Computer?

College lab computers are not equipped to supply you with the EndNote Online CWYW toolbar in Microsoft Word. To include citations in your paper using EndNote Online, follow the instructions listed at www.myendnoteweb.com under Help > Format Paper. Note that if your style calls for citation of specific page numbers, you will have to type those in after the formatting process is complete.

Using Endnote with Microsoft Word

On your own computer (not a Carleton lab computer), you can set up Microsoft Word with toolbars for both the EndNote Desktop and EndNote Online versions of this software follow the instructions on the EndNote support page for the CWYW Toolbar.

  • Be sure to delete any EndNote files you find in the Word startup folder and replace them with the files that you can download from that support page.
  • Once this is done, you can toggle back and forth between the toolbar for the EndNote Application and EndNote Web by following these instructions.

Using the Endnote Online CWYW Toolbar

  • With your Word document open, place the cursor in the location where the citation should appear.
  • Click the Find Citation(s) button in the EndNote Online toolbar. Or from the Tools menu, select EndNote Online then Find Citation(s). The Find Citation(s) dialog will appear.
    • Click the Insert button.
    • Select the reference. To insert multiple references in one citation, click each reference while holding the Ctrl key.
    • Click the Search button.
    • Enter a search term in the Search field to find the reference or references to insert. Refer to Search Tips in this topic or search operators for ways to refine your search.


Writing in Google Docs

You will not be able to use a Cite While You Write toolbar to add references to Google Docs.

Instead, create in-text citations or footnotes by hand as you work (see our citation guide for help with this). Then use EndNote Online to help you create your Bibliography:

  1. In EndNote Online, make sure the references you'll be using are in a "Group" or a "Quick List" (see "organizing" above)
  2. Click "Format" in EndNote Online, and then select "Bibliography"
  3. Select the Group that has your paper's references
  4. Select your preferred citation style
  5. Select "TXT (plain text file)" as your file format
  6. Copy/paste from the plain text file into your paper's bibliography