Highly recommended. An index of scholarly and trade film publications, many with full text articles.

(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film, music, and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2015.

Indexes over 5,000 periodicals including several film magazines and journals including Cahiers du Cinéma (1951-1995), Monthly Film Bulletin (1934-1991), Sight and Sound (1932-1995) and Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers, Journal (1916-1995).

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database.

Indexes articles and books on all of the visual arts, including film.

(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Available through the Web of Knowledge, this tool allows cited reference searching for literature from 1975 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.

Mainly for articles on literature, this database does include citations for articles on film and other media not indexed in other databases. (citations, 1963-current)

General database with full-text available for many of its offerings. Good for locating reviews or articles on dance geared toward a general audience.

This index includes citations of articles in popular magazines from 1890-1982 including such titles as Newsweek, Time, Life, The New Republic, The New Yorker, and The Nation. This is not a full-text database, though, so you will need to find the cited review among the bound periodicals on the library's third floor or request the article through Interlibrary Loan if we do not own the magazine