The Harry Ransom Center Movie Poster Collection
- The Harry Ransom Center Movie Poster Collection
This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of high-quality images of movie posters spanning from the silent era to the present day.
LibKey Nomad
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film, music, and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2015.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive
- Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media.
Women's Magazine Archive
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A fully digitized archive of the backfiles of several major North American women's magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage varies by publication and ranges from 1886 through 2005.
Media History Digital Library
A growing collection of digitized periodicals for cinema and media research including extensive runs of The Film Daily; The Film Daily Year Book of Motion Pictures; International Photographer; Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers and Journal of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers; Moving Picture World; Photoplay; Radio Age: Research, Manufacturing, Communications, Broadcasting, Television; and Radio Broadcast. Also includes shorter runs of several other publications.
- Media History Digital Library: Lantern (search)
- This link opens in a new window
- Media History Digital Library: Browse Individual Collections and Publications
- This link opens in a new window
- About the Media History Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
- Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
- This link opens in a new window
The Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) Production Code Administration Files collection documents forty years of self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry. The Production Code was written in 1929 by Martin J. Quigley, an influential editor and publisher of motion picture trade periodicals, and Reverend Daniel A. Lord, a Jesuit advisor to Hollywood filmmakers. Officially accepted in 1930 by the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA), the precursor organization to the MPAA, the Production Code presented guidelines governing American movie production. The five hundred titles selected were chosen by the staff of the library’s Special Collections Department, with advice from film historian Leonard J. Leff.
European Film Gateway
The European Film Gateway provides access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programs, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
- European Film Gateway Collections
- This link opens in a new window
