Country Profiles
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. - CQ Political Handbook of the World This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Political history, current issues, recent election trends and results, media information, and key demographic and economic facts. - Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Provides up-to-date political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.
- State Department Background NotesThe State Department profiles each country's economy, history, geography, demographics, and recent political history.
Statistical Compendia
Compare countries on different measures (literacy, GDP, population) by using statistical compendia (collections of and directories to statistical sources).
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by topic across hundreds of datasets. Browse by data producer. Good for determining who has collected the data or statistics. Note: use Firefox, Safari, or IE. Does not work in Chrome due to Java problems.
- Nationmaster
- This link opens in a new window
This is a free web, ad-supported site with comparative national statistics. Very useful for brainstorming variables and determining sources.
- UNData This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal to data and statistics gathered by the United Nation's many statistical agencies. Search across the unified index or link to individual agencies or country data. - WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Covers 1960 - present.
Note: For data documentation, see the print reference book: World Development Indicators, at call number Ref HC 59.15 .W656. - ProQuest Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search the statistical abstracts of 40 countries at one time. Statistical abstracts provide a point of entry to the vast array of data available about countries.
