Frequently Used
- iPoll Databank This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
U.S. public opinion poll data organized by question. Sponsored by the Roper Center. You will need to register with your Carleton email address to get full access.
- General Social Survey (GSS): NORC ProjectLong running survey of social, cultural, and political indicators. Download the dataset or analyze it online.
- General Social Survey (GSS): SDA ArchiveOnline data analysis from Berkeley's Survey Documentation and Archive for the General Social Survey. This is a great place to start exploring the General Social Survey, look at frequencies for individual questions, select individual questions for data download.
- World Values Survey
This link opens in a new window
The World Values Survey (WVS) is a global research initiative exploring values, how they change over time, and what impact they have. The WVS is made up of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries encompassing about 90 percent of the world's population. Data spans from 1981 to present. Here is a helpful guide for using WVS.
- Latinobarómetro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual public opinion survey interviews approximately 19,000 individuals across 18 LAC countries projectable to 400 million inhabitants. - LAPOP: Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From Vanderbilt, public opinion surveys measure democractic attitudes across LAC countries.
Guides to Doing Public Opinion Research
Major Survey Series
- AfrobarometerSeries of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets and society conducted in 12+ African nations.
- American National Election Studies (ANES)
- This link opens in a new window
Long-running series of survey data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. 1960 - 2012. - Arab BarometerDeveloped with scholars in 2005 in consultation with the Global Barometer work.
- Asian BarometerPan-Asian household surveys on attitudes toward regimes, democracy, and economic reform.
- Comparative Study of Electoral Systems (CSES)Participating studies include common questions in their post-election surveys.
- EurobarometerPublic opinion surveys of European citizens since 1973.
- European Social SurveyBiennial survey across 30 nations measuring media use, social and public trust, political and social values, and more. Since 2002.
- General Social Survey (GSS): SDA ArchiveOnline data analysis from Berkeley's Survey Documentation and Archive for the General Social Survey. This is a great place to start exploring the General Social Survey, look at frequencies for individual questions, select individual questions for data download.
- General Social Survey (GSS): NORC ProjectLong running survey of social, cultural, and political indicators. Download the dataset or analyze it online.
- ISSP (International Social Survey Programme)Continuous cross-national program of surveys coordinated across 45 member countries. Users can download these datasets after registering with GESIS, the host institute. Some of these are also available through ICPSR.
- LAPOP: Latin American Public Opinion Project This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From Vanderbilt, public opinion surveys measure democractic attitudes across LAC countries. - Latinobarómetro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Annual public opinion survey interviews approximately 19,000 individuals across 18 LAC countries projectable to 400 million inhabitants.
- Palestinian Center for Policy and Survey ResearchSurveys Palestinian public opinion.
- Pew Internet and the American LifeDatasets and question database covering 2000-2012.
- Pew Research Center for the People & PressDatasets from 1997-current.
- World Values Survey
- This link opens in a new window
Surveys individuals in countries around the world on attitudes, values, trust, and demographics.
Data Archives of Polls
- Pew Global Attitudes Survey200,000+ interviews across 55 countries have been conducted as part of this project.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
One of the world's leading social science archives, with a focus on public opinion. Thousands of datasets, including international surveys, plus access to question-level searching of U.S. surveys through their iPoll tool. - SSEDL: Social Science Electronic Data Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
A collection of health and social science datasets organized into topical areas.
- Association of Religion Data ArchivesQuestion database and datasets on religion.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address.
- Cultural Policy and the Arts Data ArchiveDatasets on the arts and public policy.
Question Databases
- iPoll Databank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. public opinion poll data organized by question.
- Kaiser Health Poll SearchArchives more than 50,000 questions on health issues, in partnership between Kaiser and Roper.
- Odum Archive Public Opinion DataThis archive includes the Harris Polls from 1958, Southern Regional Public Opinion, and USA Today polls.
- ICPSR Variables Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search by question across more than 2600 studies in the ICPSR archive. This database covers nearly 2 million variables.
Summaries and Quick Reports of Polling Data
- Americans and the WorldPolling data of Americans and their opinions on world affairs.
- Gallup International Voice of the PeopleSurveys people around the world on their opinions on governance, democracy, terrorism, the environment, more. 2002-2006.
Collections of Survey Results
These collections, many in print, are especially good for historical research. Many of the major polling organizations (Gallup, Harris, NORC) maintain web archives.
The Gallup Poll Cumulative Index by Call Number: HM261 .G3 Cum. Index 1935-1997ISBN: 0842025871Publication Date: 1999-04-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Public Opinion Polls and Survey Research by Call Number: HM261 .W34 1990ISBN: 0824057325Publication Date: 1990-03-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...- The Gallup Poll byCall Number: HM261 .G3 1972-1977 v. 1ISBN: 0842024832Publication Date: 1994-05-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- A Compendium of American Public Opinion byCall Number: Oversized HN90.P8 G56 1988ISBN: 0816016194Publication Date: 1988-08-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Index to International Public Opinion, 1993-1994 by Call Number: REF HM261 .I552 1978/79ISBN: 0313290687Publication Date: 1995-02-28Availability and more information from Catalyst...- The Gallup International Public Opinion Polls, Great Britain, 1937-1975 byCall Number: HM261 .G34 vol.1ISBN: 0394409922Publication Date: 1976-01-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- The Gallup International Public Opinion Polls, France, 1939, 1944-1975 byCall Number: HM261 .G35 vol.1ISBN: 0394409981Publication Date: 1976-01-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Gallup Poll: public opinion, 1935-1971 byCall Number: HM261 .G3 1935/1971ISBN: 0394472705Publication Date: 1972Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The International Gallup polls, public opinion
Call Number: REF HM261 .G276Availability and more information from Catalyst...The Germans : Public opinion polls 1947-1966
Call Number: HN460.P8 G46Availability and more information from Catalyst...
