Trade - Start Here
Below, frequently used trade data. Find a more comprehensive list here.
- World Bank Trade Data & StatisticsLinks to variety of (very useful) data and publication sources on trade from the World Bank.
- UNCTAD - Foreign Direct Investment Database"The FDI database presents aggregate inflows, outflows, inward stocks and outward stocks of foreign direct investment (FDI) for 196 reporting economies in an interactive format."
- UNCTAD - World Investment Directory OnlineCountry Fact Sheets contain most relevant indicators about FDI for 188 economies; FDI in Brief has information about flows and stocks for 80 economies; FDI in Profile has information about flows and stocks for 112 economies.
- WITS, TRAINS, & ComtradeTariff and trade flow information for more than 160 countries.
- WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
1000+ economic, social, environmental, and governance time series indicators (1960-current) across 200 countries and 18 country groups. - DOTS: Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes time series of value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, published by the IMF (International Monetary Fund). Covers 1980 - current.
Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (print)
Call Number: CC Books HF91 .D574 (newest in Reference)Publication Date: 1965 to presentAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
Also available quarterly. Can be helpful for understanding the online version.- Direction of Trade Statistics on CD-RomCall Number: Libe 466 (Ask Ref. Libn for assistance)Publication Date: 1948-2004Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Treaties - Start Here
Below, top resources for treaties. Find a more comprehensive list of resources on this page.
Treaties in Force (TIF)
An official government publication which provides an index to treaties currently in force to which the U.S. is a party.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776-1949 (Bevans)
CC Gov Docs S 9.12/2 v.1-13
The definitive publication of treaties to which the U.S. was a party from 1776-1949. Volume 13 provides an index by subject and country. Often called Bevans after its author, Charles Bevans.
- World Treaty Index at the University of MichiganMerges several well-known treaty indexes and aims to cover all 20th-century treaty agreements.
- Treaties and Other International Agreements (TIAS)First official publication of text of treaties and agreements (slip form); lag time of about 8-9 years before publication.
- United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)Call Number: Gov Docs S 9.12Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The official texts for U.S. treaties (following publication in TIAS). Lag time of about 10-20 years. At Carleton, these are published in Lexis Nexis Academic.
