Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
Comparative Political Data
Comprehensive directory to datasets and sources commonly used by political science students.
Online analysis of American National Election Survey from Berkeley's Survey Data Analysis. This is a great place to start if you want to explore questions asked, get initial frequencies, or select individual questions across surveys for data download.
Online data analysis from Berkeley's Survey Documentation and Archive for the General Social Survey. This is a great place to start exploring the General Social Survey, look at frequencies for individual questions, select individual questions for data download.
"The central aim of the Constituency-Level Elections Archive (CLEA) project is to produce a repository of detailed results - including votes received by each candidate/party, total votes cast, number of eligible voters, and seat figures where available - at a constituency level for the lower house legislative elections that have been conducted around the world."
Covers 867 legislative elections, 294 presidential elections, regime types, district size, assembly size, and more variables across 199 countries from Matt Golder at NYU. He also includes links to other useful elections datasets.
Provides information on the results of both national and subnational elections around the world. These data are presented at two levels of analysis, allowing users to quickly identify the results of elections within a country as a whole or within particular constituencies or districts of a country. All parties are included in the database regardless of the number of votes that they won. The data are based on countries' official election results and have been amassed from various government institutions. Data in Excel format. Dates vary, but generally 1945-2007.
"Static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through 2003." Some data is also available for download