Catalyst: Finding Books and Articles
Two kinds of books, monographs and essay collections, compose the majority of Gould library's collection. Monographs, extended analyses of a topic by one author, are abundant in the field of history. Essay collections bring together articles, often by different authors, on a given topic.
Advanced Searching Pro Tips...
- Search for the phrase "Latin America" or the names of specific countries along with the word "history" or "politics and government" to browse relevant subject headings, like this:
- Peru > Politics and government > 1548-1820
- Mexico > History > 1810-
- Latin America > History > To 1830
- Note that many Library of Congress subject headings relevant to Latin American History do not begin with the name of a Latin American country or even contain the phrase "Latin America":
- Political participation > Chile > History
- Popular culture > Argentina
- Women > Political activity > Latin America
Specialized Databases (articles)
Journal articles present the most current thinking in a field, provides reviews of historiographical trends, and create a forum for intellectual exchange among professional historians.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Latinos in the United States. Covers 1970 - current. - HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
A bibliography pointing to key scholarship on Latin America. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A vast index of literature from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Also offers cited reference searching to see who has cited a particular document. 1898 - current. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, military history, and reports and other documents of international organizations.
Journals to Browse
These are core journals in Latin American history that you might find relevant to your search. Keep in mind, however, that this list is simply to get you started!
- American Historical ReviewIn Print and Online
- Bulletin of Latin American ResearchThe Bulletin of Latin American Research (BLAR) publishes original research of current interest on Latin America, the Caribbean, inter-American relations and the Latin American Diaspora from all academic disciplines within the Social Sciences and Humanities.
- Hispanic American Historical ReviewPioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and today, stands as the most widely respected journal in the field.
- Journal of Latin American StudiesPresents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history. Includes an extensive section of book reviews.
- Browzine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
An online tool that allows you to browse, read, and stay current with scholarly journals. Also available as an app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire devices.
- Journals ListSearch all of the library's subscriptions to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
