Journals
- Tribal college journalSome content also available for free online
- Other journals, newspapers, and newsletters from and about Indigenous Communities in America"Native American" OR "American Indian" OR Indigenous; Material type = Journal
- Browzine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
An online tool that allows you to browse, read, and stay current with scholarly journals. Also available as an app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire devices.
LibKey Nomad
Secondary sources
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The key database for educational-related literature. You may also search ERIC through the free U.S. Department of Education website. 1907 - current. An ELM Database.
- Books about the history of Indigenous Peoples in North AmericaSearch results in Catalyst (Carleton and St. Olaf) using the subject heading Indians of North America -- History
- Reclaiming Native TruthA Project to Dispel America’s Myths and Misconceptions. The Reclaiming Native Truth project conducted an unprecedented research campaign designed to increase our understanding of the dominant narrative about Native peoples in the United States.
Indigenous Legal Histories & Treaties
- National Indian Law Library CatalogFrom the national non-profit Native American Rights fund, publications and other resources relevant to federal Indian and tribal law. Advanced Search Hint: narrow by "Type" options for: Tribal Compact, Tribal Codes, Constitutions, court cases and more.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes historical claims presented to Congress or brought before the Court of Claims. Also includes records of the Indian Claims Commission including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts, and more. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Traditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, military history, and reports and other documents of international organizations. - Territorial Papers of the United States, 1764-1953 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of pre-statehood documents including Native American negotiations and treaties, official correspondence with the federal government, military records, judicial proceedings, population data, financial statistics, land records, and more. - ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
ADVANCED SEARCH: Module = American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Fully searchable, digitized archival collections, some focusing on the interaction between American Indians and the U.S. government in the 19th and 20th Centuries. Includes: Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, detailed coverage of Indian Wars, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, records about Day and Boarding Schools, and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes -- plus more.
- American Indian and Alaskan Native Documents in the Congressional Serial Set: 1817-1899From the University of Oklahoma College of Law, a curated collection of digitized materials from the U.S. Serial Set, a compilation of congressional publications, offering "detailed contemporaneous documentation of political, military, and governmental activities related to indigenous peoples of the continental United States and Alaskan territory during the 19th century. "
- Indigenous Digital Archive: Treaties ExplorerThe US National Archives holds 374 of the treaties, where they are known as the Ratified Indian Treaties. Here you can view them for the first time with key historic works that provide context to the agreements made and the histories of our shared lands.
- Native LandAn Indigenous-led project to outline the boundaries of Indigenous ancestral territories, languages, and Cessions in North America.
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: ONLINE & CC Ref KF8205 .E525 2009ISBN: 9781933116983Publication Date: 2008-12-23Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Specific Reports and Groups
- Annual report of the Board of Indian Commissioners to the Secretary of the Interior. (HathiTrust)Letters and reports concerning the Board's implementation of U.S. Policy, including allotments. Published [1870]-1933.
- Annual reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs (UWI)Published 1826-1932.
- Native American Rights Fund (NARF)NARF fights to protect Native American rights, resources, and lifeways through litigation, legal advocacy, and legal expertise.
