Primary Sources in Catalyst
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Primary sources can be located in Catalyst a number of ways. Below are a list of strategies to try. Be creative and flexible when searching for primary sources -- and use facets!
1. Do an author search (with facets) for persons, organizations, or group central to your topic.
- Author (contains) Thomas Jefferson AND Publication Date 1700-1850 AND Show Only Physical Resources
gives us: Autobiography of Thomas Jefferson, 1743-1790
2. Do a keyword search for words that signify primary source (source, letters, narrative, laws) and words that represent your topic.
- Any field (contains) "American Indian Movement" autobiography
**Protip: quotes will search for the exact phrase.
**Protip 2: This search strategy may get you a slightly chaotic set of results. REMEMBER TO SCROLL TO PAGE 2!
3. Do a subject search using a subject heading, then limit your search to publications produced during the era you are researching.
- Subject (is exact) Child Welfare--United States AND Publication Date 1920-1950 sorted by Date-oldest
Specialized Primary Source Types
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text and full-image articles for major newspapers from the United States (including Historical Black Newspapers); plus ABC (Spain), Le Monde, the Jerusalem Post (formerly the Palestine Post), The Korea Times, London Evening Standard, South China Morning Post, and the Times of India. Each paper is available from its first issue through about 2013 (depending on the paper). Earliest papers start in 1827. - Newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional, and state titles as well as small local newspapers in the United States and other countries. - Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, history of science and artificial intelligence, and the like. - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - Accessible Archives Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Full-text access to primary source materials and newspapers from 18th, 19th, and early 20th century America. The collection includes: letters, advertisements, editorials, sketches, county records, complete runs of important periodicals, military newsletters, public health documents, and much more. Titles and collections of interest include: The Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, The South Carolina Gazette, Godey's Lady Book, The North Star, and a large collections of Native American (1700s-1900s) and African American Newspapers (1800s-1900s). View full list of collections - Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through hundreds of British periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century, all available in full text. Also allows searching for cartoons, photographs, illustrations, and other images. Covers 1680 - 1930. - Carletonian Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through full text information)
Full text access to the Carletonian, going back to the very beginning! Covers 1887 - one year ago. Also archived in the Archives Database. For recent issues, visit The Carletonian Online.
- Chronicling America
- This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- American Prison Newspapers 1800-2020 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. - CRL Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A collection including foreign newspapers on microfilm, on paper, and digital. Filmed material may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. - East View This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search all East View databases for historical newspaper and journal content from: China, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, North Africa, Latin America, and Russia. - Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers from the 1800's to today, content includes newspapers from East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Russia and the former Soviet Union, Mexico, the Caribbean, the Middle East, North Africa, and East Africa. - Chinese Newspapers: Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers. Contents include: Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers (1912-1949).
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains the full text of over 170 African-American periodicals from 26 states printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers 1825 - 1995. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A digitized collection of American magazines and journals, 1740-1920. - EBSCO Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text archives of major twentieth-century American magazines. Includes but not limited to: Ebony (1945-2014), Esquire (1933-2014), LIFE (1936-2000), People (1974-2000), Time (1923-2000), and Vanity Fair(1913-33, 1983-2015). - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film, music, and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2015. - LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years.
- Magazine Art: Advertising Art in Magazines [Internet Archive]A small selection of art from late-18th century and early-19th century magazine ads (many in color). They include ads for household goods and appliances, food, cars and trucks, and clothing, among many other things.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A full-color, searchable collection of archived issue of National Geographic Magazine. More info on newer issues in Catalyst. - News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (featuring Newsweek) 1918-2015 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archival collection of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive) spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Offers multiple perspectives on the 20th century’s key issues and events. - Religious Magazine Archive (1845-2015) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
18 historical magazines devoted to religious topics: Advent, America, BR, Catholic World, Islamic Horizons, Islamica, National Catholic Reporter, Plain Truth, The Pope Speaks, Presbyterian Outlook, Protestant Truth, Quest, Sikh Courier International, Sikh Messenger, Sojourners Magazine, Spiritual Life, U.S. Catholic, and UU World. - Vogue Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day. - Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A fully digitized archive of the backfiles of several major North American women's magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage varies by publication and ranges from 1886 through 2005.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video collection including documentaries, newsreels, theater, musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines.
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingHistoric programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Includes video of Watergate hearings, raw interview footage form Ken Burns documentaries, and many other political speeches and interviews.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. Includes award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics. - Carleton College Oral Histories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes recorded interviews with Carleton faculty, alumni, staff and others covering their individual experiences at Carleton. 1971-2021 - Historical Audio and Visual Materials about Carleton College This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citation information
Audio and video recordings of Carleton College, its campus, events, and people. While many of these recordings were made by the College, the collection includes several "home movies" made by Carleton students providing a unique glimpse into student life.
- DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Aggregates millions of digital items from major libraries and collections across the country, including Carleton College. - HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students. - Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Contains texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress that document American History.
NOTE: The Library of Congress has migrated all collections from the American Memory Project into this new platform. - CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan. - Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across newspapers and digitized collections of primary sources from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries, including ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online, NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online, The Making of the Modern World, The Times of London, The Illustrated London News, the Times Literary Supplement, The Economist, and many more. Covers 1604 - present (varying by source). - AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary sources from the 15th-21st centuries, including the social sciences, humanities, global history, popular culture, history of media, gender and sexuality, trade history, borders and migrations, and war and conflict. - Readex AllSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's Readex collections at once. Includes historical newspapers, government documents, books, ephemera, history of science and artificial intelligence, and the like. - Carleton College Archives Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Search all known records of archival photographs, documents, and artifacts at Carleton College Archives, many of which are available in digitized form. Visit the User Guide for help.
- CanadianaDigital collection of Canadian cultural heritage material
- Europeana This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
A large collections with artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. Has filters for Open Licenses.
- Internet archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access to current and historical web content.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An index of alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from around the world. It focuses on emerging theories and practices of radical social change, socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Covers 1969 - current. - Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
It focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality. The collection aims to bring out dissenting and minority voices to support research and teaching in women’s studies, lgbtq studies, ethnic studies, and more. Covers 1970 - current. - Documenting White Supremacy and Its Opponents in the 1920s This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An open access digital collection of 20th century alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, and extreme right-wing groups. - Student Activism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist. - Underground and Independent Comics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Original works with many interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
Search CRL
The Center for Research Libraries has a number of microfilmed collections, international newspapers, and official documents from countries outside the U.S.
- CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
- CRL Topic GuidesEach guide includes a short writeup on the landscape of the field of study, links to relevant primary source collections at CRL, and links out to related sources.
- FOCUS on Global Resources (CRL Newsletter)CRL's quarterly newsletter with themed issues.
The 1619 Project (New York Times)
The 1619 Project is an initiative from The New York Times observing the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It was originally published as an interactive website and an August 18, 2019 special issue of the New York Times Magazine.
- The 1619 Project (New York Times Magazine interactive site)
The full interactive website of the 1619 Project. - The 1619 Project (Pulitzer Center)
Full pdf of the August 18, 2019 New York Times Magazine, including advertisements, and cover art. The Pulitzer Center also produced free resources about the project, including videos of some authors reading their material, and curricular material. - The 1619 Project, New York Times (ProQuest)
Available both as a PDF with images, and all textual content from The 1619 Project (New York Times). Use the Table of Contents to browse more efficiently.
The 1619 Project by Call Number: Carleton Library Books (E441 .A15 2021) and ONLINEISBN: 9780593230572Publication Date: 2021-11-16Preface: Origins / by Nikole Hannah-Jones -- Democracy / by Nikole Hannah-Jones -- Race / by Dorothy Roberts -- Sugar / by Khalil Gibran Muhammad -- Fear / by Leslie Alexander and Michelle Alexander -- Dispossession / by Tiya Miles -- Capitalism / by Matthew Desmond -- Politics / by Jamelle Bouie -- Citizenship / by Martha S. Jones -- Self-defense / by Carol Anderson -- Punishment / by Bryan Stevenson -- Inheritance / by Trymaine Lee -- Medicine / by Linda Villarosa -- Church / by Anthea Butler -- Music / by Wesley Morris -- Healthcare / by Jeneen Interlandi -- Traffic / by Kevin M. Kruse -- Progress / by Ibram X. Kendi -- Justice / by Nikole Hannah-Jones.
