Browsing Catalyst & Stacks
Search for "France -- History" or "Germany -- History" or "Great Britain -- History" to browse a list of relevant subject headings, such as:
- France -- History -- 17th Century -- Historiography
- France -- History -- 1848-1870
- France -- History -- 20th Century -- Sources
Note that many Library of Congress subject headings relevant to European History do not begin with the name of a European country:
- Peace of Westphalia (1648) -- Exhibitions
- Feminism -- Europe -- History -- 19th Century
- World War, 1939-1945 -- Aerial Operations, British
Specialized Databases (articles)
Journal articles presents the most current thinking in the field, provides reviews of historiographical trends, and creates a forum for intellectual exchange among professional historians.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - BBIH: Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An extensive bibliography of literature about the British Isles, British Empire and the Commonwealth from the Roman period to present day. - ABSEEES: American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union from journals, books, dissertations, and more. Subjects include: anthropology, culture and the arts, economics, education, and geography. Covers 1939 - current.
- ALL HISTORY DATABASESIf you aren't seeing a helpful database, try looking at the whole list! You can narrow them down by material type (newspapers, data and statistics, full text journal articles, etc.).
Journals to Browse
These are core journals in European history you might find relevant to your search. Keep in mind, however, that this list is simply to get you started!
- Journals ListSearch all of the library's subscriptions to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Browzine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
An online tool that allows you to browse, read, and stay current with scholarly journals. Also available as an app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire devices.
- American Historical ReviewIn Print and Online
- Central European History
- This link opens in a new window
